Skip to main content
Historical U.S. Newspapers Online
Search this Guide
Historical U.S. Newspapers Online: G
A guide to historical U.S. newspapers that are freely available on the Internet.
Albany: Albany Herald 1973-2009
Albany: Albany Sunday Herald 1977-1992
Athens: Athens Historic Newspapers 1827-1928
Athens: Red and Black 1893-2006
Student newspaper of the University of Georgia
Athens: University Bumble Bee 1889-1902
Graduate student newspaper from the University of Georgia. This newspaper was published only at the end of the academic year.
Atlanta: Atlanta Historic Newspapers Archive 1847-1922
Atlanta: Atlanta Independent 1904-1928
Atlanta: Atlanta Journal-Constitution 1985-
Searching is free, but you'll only see the first part of the article unless you pay for it.
Atlanta: Atlanta Journal-Constitution Photographs 1950s-1980s
This database contains only the photographs, not the articles. Most of the photographs are from the 1950s-1980s, but some are from other years.
Atlanta: Great Speckled Bird 1968-1976, 1984-1985, 2006
Atlanta: Signal 1926-
Student newspapers from George State University. This database includes the Signal and its precursors: The Techite, The Evening Signal, and The Junior Collegiate.
Atlanta: Stormy Petrel 1993-1995
Student newspaper from Oglethorpe University
Atlanta: Student Voice 1960-1965
The newspaper of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC)
Augusta, Atlanta: Southern Israelite 1929-1986
Jewish American newspaper
Calhoun: Bartow Press 1983-2006
Calhoun: Calhoun Times 1924, 1985-2008
Calhoun: Calhoun Times and Gordon County News 1986-2006
Cedartown: Cedartown Standard 1988-2008
Cedartown: West Polk Press 1983-1987
Chattooga: Chattooga Press 1984-2006
A Collection: Andrew W. Cain Newspaper Collection 1864-1905
Newspapers published in northern Georgia. Not all issues are available.
A Collection: Chronicling America: Georgia Newspapers
A Collection: Georgia Historic Newspapers Search 1828-1887
Among other titles, includes the Cherokee Phoenix (a Native American newspaper), the Colored Tribune (an African American newspaper), and the Southern Israellite (a Jewish American newspaper).
A Collection: South Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive 1845-1922
A Collection: Uncle Remus Regional Library System Newspapers 1806-2010
Newspapers from the counties served by the Library: Greene, Hancock, Jasper, Morgan, Putnam, and Walton
Columbus: Columbus Enquirer Archive 1828-1890
Dawsonville: Digital Archives of the Dawson County Library, 1879-2012
Forsyth: Monroe County Reporter 2000-2002, 2005-2009
Fort Oglethorpe: Fort Oglethorpe Press 1991-2006
Gray: Jones County News 206-2009
Gray: Jones County News 1973, 1980, 1990, 2004-2005, 2009-
Greenville: Meriwether Vindicator 2005-2009
Hamilton/Pine Mountain: Harris County Journal 2005-2009
Hogansville: Hogansville Home News 2005-2009
Homerville: Clinch County News 1929, 1937, 1944, 1953, 1967, 1971, 1989, 1991, 2001-2001, 2009, 2012-
Homerville: Clinch County News 2005-2009
Lafayette: Walker County Messenger 1989-2008
Leesburg: Digital Archives of the Lee County Library 1901-2012
Macon: Mercer Cluster Archive 1920-1970
Manchester: Hogansville Herald 1999-
Manchester: Manchester Star Mercury 2005-2009
Milledgeville: Milledgeville Historic Newspapers Archive 1808-1922
New Echota: Cherokee Phoenix 1828-1834
Native American newspaper.
Not all issues are available; English language articles only.
NOTE: This is also in the Georgia Historic Newspapers Search.
Ringgold: Catoosa County News 1990-2008
Rockmart: Rockmart Journal 1972, 1980-2007
Rockmart: Rockmart Journal Plus 1996, 2007-2008
Rome: Advertiser-News 1977-1979
Rome: Floyd County Press 1984
Rome: Rome Daily Courier 1881-1882
Rome: Rome News-Tribune 1951-2008
Rome: Rome Tribune-Herald 1910-1911, 1913, 1916
Savannah: Albion's Voice 1970
Underground newspaper that focused on the issues of race, class and gender.
Savannah: Savannah Historic Newspapers Archive 1809-1880
Savannah: Tiger's Roar 1949-1970
Student newspaper from Georgia State College, now Savannah State University
Statesboro: Bulloch County Newspapers 1893-1969
Sylvester: Digital Archives of the Worth County Library 1885-2013
Talbotton: Talbotton New Era 2001-2009
Turnwold: Countryman 1862-1866
A Civil War-era paper "published in the Country, on a Southern Plantation, and Devoted to the Editor's Opinions."
Waycross: Waycross Journal-Herald 1933-1954, 1967, 1969-2001
Waycross: Waycross Weekly Journal 1943-1944
Includes some issues of the Waycross Journal-Herald
Mar 24, 2017 11:53 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
News & Current Events
Use this guide in Canvas
Linking from a page
Either add a new page, or edit an existing page.
Enter and then select the text that will be linked.
“Link to URL” button in toolbar.
Paste the following URL into the dialog, and “Insert Link”:
Make sure you save your changes.
Embedding in a module
Either create or choose a module, and press the
“Add Content” button next to it.
Choose “External URL” from the “Add to Test Module” dropdown.
Paste the following URL into the “URL” field:
Specify the “Page Name”.
Press the “Add Item” button.
Remember to publish your changes.