This LibGuide No Longer Being Updated
As of June 1, 2019 this LibGuide is no longer being updated because I am retiring at the end of June. If you are looking for newspapers that aren’t listed here, a great source to try is:
Identify a U.S. Newspaper from a Place and Time
The Library of Congress's web site, Chronicling America has a search engine that will identify United States newspapers that were available in a particular place and time. Click on this link to connect to the Newspaper Directory.
The Boston Public Library has digitized a number of newspaper directories for various years. If you're trying to identify what newspapers were published in a particular place at a particular time, you can view these directories.
Important Information about Dates of Coverage
If dates of coverage are included in an entry for a newspaper, the source may or may not include all issues within the listed time period. Also, the dates of coverage were correct when they were added to the entry, but may have changed since they were recorded.
Google News Archive
The Google News search box searches back to 1970. It is available here.
In order to search the newspapers in Google News Archive, do a search in a Google search box that includes the term(s) for which you wish to search and include the phrase "site:news.google.com/newspapers" (without the quotation marks) in the search box. For example, to search for articles about Pearl Harbor, do the search:
site:news.google.com/newspapers "pearl harbor"
A complete list of newspapers available at Google News Archive is here. That list is arranged by title of the newspaper and provides access to a browsable list of all issues available.
Newspapers Are Arranged by State
To find the newspaper you want, click on the first letter of the alphabet for the state in which it was published.
Example: To find the Toledo Blade, click on the "O" for Ohio.
Pages That Link to Internet Sites with Newspapers from Many States.
- 19th Century Mormon Article Newspaper Index 1831-1900Index of newspaper articles about the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints or about Utah. The articles are from newspapers throughout the U.S. The articles are not available full text in this database.
- Afro Black History ArchivesSearchable database of African American newspapers which are also available on Google News Archive. Includes the [Baltimore] Afro-American 1902-1957, the [Baltimore] Afro-American Ledger 1906-1917, the Baltimore Afro-American 1943-2003, and the Washington Afro-American 1938-1988.
- Ancestor Hunt: Newspapers!Scroll down the page to see a list of links to page for each state. This site has an extensive list of newspapers.
- Black Abolitionist Archives: NewspapersNewspaper clippings from a variety of newspapers. This doesn't contain the full text of the newspapers, just selected articles.
- Black Quotidian: Everyday History in African-American NewspapersIncludes newspaper clippings from African American newspapers in a searchable database.
- Catholic Newspapers OnlineThis ongoing project hopes to eventually digitize every Catholic newspaper in North America.
- Charleston Museum Illustrated Newspaper CollectionImages from a variety of illustrated newspapers, published mainly in the 19th century.
- Chronicling America: Historical American Newspapers 1836-1922An extensive collection of newspapers, from the Library of Congress.
- Collegiate Chronicle Student Newspaper Repository (University of Illinois)A prototype collection of student newspapers from various universities in the United States. This collection is expected to grow as money becomes available.
- DigiNole: Historical Newspapers 17th-20th centuries (Florida State University)While the contents focuses on the southeastern U.S., there are various newspapers in this database.
- Digital Library of Danish American Newspapers and Journals 1893 - (Museum of Danish America)Includes newspapers from California, Iowa, and Nebraska.
- Digitalna Knijiznica Slovenije (Slovenian Digital Library)Click on the link to "Casopisje in Clanki" to see a list that includes newspaper titles. This list includes several Slovenian language newspapers from the U.S.
- Drew Pearson's Merry-Go-Round (1932-1969) (American University)Drew Pearson was a columnist who was published in many newspapers around the United States.
- Farm, Field, and Fireside Agriculture Newspaper Collection 1841-1939 (University of Illinois)Database of rural newspapers.
- GenDisasters.com: Events That Touched Our Ancestors' LivesTranscribed newspaper articles about train wrecks, fires, floods, shipwrecks, and other disasters. Browse by date, state, or type of disaster.
- GI Movement: Underground Newspapers (University of Washington)Anti-Vietnam War underground newspapers published in the Pacific Northwest
- Historical African American Newspapers Online (Marist U.)Links to online African American newspapers, both free and subscription sources.
- Historic Newspapers from Baylor UniversityThis collection includes a variety of digitized newspapers. Most newspapers are represented by only a few issues.
- Illustrated Police News 1876-1896Many issues are missing
- Last Seen: Finding Family After SlaveryA database of ads placed by former slaves who were trying to locate family members 1863-early 20th century.
- Luminist Archives: Periodical Archives: Dissident, Counterculture, & "Underground" PublicationsDigitized issues of underground newspapers. Most of the newspapers are represented by only a few issues.
- Newspaper (Library of Congress)This site searches Library of Congress digital collections that include newspapers, such as Chronicling America, Stars and Stripes from WWI, newspapers from War Relocation Authority camps, etc.
- Northwest History Database (Washington State Universities)A database that includes newspaper clippings
- Pacific Northwest Minority, Ethnic, and Special Interest Newspapers (University of Washington)Published late 19th century - present.
- Pacific Northwest Regional Newspaper and Periodical Index (University of Washington)An index to newspapers, scrapbooks, pamphlets, etc. dealing with life in Seattle, Washington, and the Pacific Northwest. This index started as a card file in 1935.
- Swedish-American Newspapers (Minnesota Historical Society)Swedish-language newspapers
- US NewsMapSearches more than 11 million newspapers from 1789-1922
- World War History: Newspaper Clippings 1914 to 1926Daily records and comments as appeared in American and international newspapers
