Zotero

Other word processors, such as Google Docs and Office Libre, offer the same functionality for Zotero citations and bibliographies, though the location and design of the functions may look different than those shown in the screenshots below.

Once you've installed Zotero for Microsoft Word, you can add citations and a bibliography for references in Zotero directly into your Word document. You must add citations to the document before generating a bibliography.

To add a citation, click on the "Zotero" tab in your document - it should be located between the View and Help tabs. Then, click "Add/Edit Citation." The first time you click here, you will be prompted to select the citation style that you wish to use for your citations. You can also change the language of your citations from this prompt, or choose whether or not to automatically add citations to your Bibliography. You can change any of this information later on by clicking on the "Document Preferences" button in the Zotero tab.

Once you've set your document preferences, you can start adding citations. When you click on the "add/edit citation" button, a search bar for your Zotero library will pop up in Microsoft Word in the middle of the screen. Type in the name of your reference to find it in the search bar, then click on the correct reference to generate the citation. Then, click on the arrow or hit the enter key on your keyboard to enter the citation on the Word document. Make sure that your cursor on the document is set at the correct location to input your citation. If you accidentally place the citation in the wrong location, you can highlight it with your mouse, then click on it to pick it up and move it around the document.
Once you have inserted at least one citation, you can create a bibliography for your document. Click on the "add/edit bibliography" button on the Zotero tab to automatically generate a bibliography for all citations in your document. If you add more citations to the document later, and you have not set up your document preferences to automatically update citations, you can click on the "Refresh" button on the Zotero tab to add the new citations to the bibliography.Important note: Zotero citations and bibliographical references are not 100% accurate. The citations are generated from that information entered into the fields on your items in your Zotero library. If this information is inaccurate, the citation will be inaccurate. Furthermore, Zotero does not always follow the correct style guide. As an example, in the above paragraph, Zotero did not generate the title of articles in sentence case, even though APA 7th edition requires that article titles use sentence case in bibliographies. Please always check your citations and edit any mistakes! You can edit citations and bibliographies directly on your Word document.

Finally, it is recommended that you click on the "Unlink Citations" button on the Zotero tab whenever you are done inserting citations and creating your bibliography. This will unlink your citations from your Zotero library. If you do not unlink your citations, then they may change whenever you update their corresponding item in your Zotero library.