Reference & Instruction Librarian
Industry Codes
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes are available through both the Census Bureau's site and the NAICS Association page.
Industry Profiles/Reports
-
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
A database of industry information. IBISWorld employs a team of dedicated expert analysts to research economic, demographic and government data, providing insight into Americas 700+ industries. Additional modules cover China Industry, Global Industry, and U.S. Specialized Industry.
-
EBSCO Business Searching Interface This link opens in a new window
The Business Searching Interface (BSI) is EBSCO's highly focused user interface created especially for the business searcher. Business Searching Interface provides an easy way to both browse and search for company profiles, industry information, country economic data, and market research.
Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyze, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein
-
MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
Company, industry and country information for US and global business. Includes in-depth analyst reports and statistics.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
The database formerly named LexisNexis Academic is now called Nexis Uni! Contains full-text newspapers, business information, and legal publications, including current news, company profiles, industry information, and federal and state laws and legislation.
-
Plunkett Research Online*Access available through Toledo Public Library. You can apply for a digital public library card online to access the database*
Offers information on industry trends and comparative analysis between related companies.
Industry Statistics
In addition to the resources listed above for Industry Overviews, industry statistics can also be found in these sources.
-
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is an online statistics portal providing access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions.
-
MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
Company, industry and country information for US and global business. Includes in-depth analyst reports and statistics.
-
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Market research reports covering US and International markets with an emphasis on consumer products, lifestyles and industries. Reports combine data and analysis of the market environment and trends, market share, and consumer behavior and attitudes.
-
Data USAData USA combines U.S. government data from various sources into one open access platform. Includes job, industry, and product data.
-
Bureau of Labor Statistics by IndustryThe U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics tracks industry statistics including industries at a glance, labor productivity, and occupational trends.
-
County Business Patterns (U.S. Census Bureau)County Business Patterns (CBP) is an annual series that provides subnational economic data for establishments with paid employees by industry and employment size.
-
BizStatsBizStats is the home of free, accurate business statistics in areas such as corporation benchmarks and financial ratios.
-
MarketWatch - IndustriesIndustry market statistics based on segments of the economy.
Competitor Analysis
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Information on all topics in business, including full-text, scholarly journal articles, company information, and industry reports.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
The database formerly named LexisNexis Academic is now called Nexis Uni! Contains full-text newspapers, business information, and legal publications, including current news, company profiles, industry information, and federal and state laws and legislation.
-
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text news from hundreds of business news sources across the globe.