LibGuides: Marketing &amp; Advertising: Advertising

Advertising Resources

Business Source Complete
Information on all topics in business, including full-text, scholarly journal articles, company information, and industry reports.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Indexing, abstracts and full text for journals in communication studies, covering topics such as journalism, mass media, and communicative disorders.
EBSCO Databases
Over 80 of the library's databases are on EBSCO, including Business Source Complete, Academic Search Complete and Communication and Mass Media Complete. Use the link above to search all 80 at the same time, or connect to EBSCO and then click on "Choose Databases" to search a specific combination of databases.
Mintel
Research reports covering US and International marketplaces.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
The database formerly named LexisNexis Academic is now called Nexis Uni! Contains full-text newspapers, business information, and legal publications, including current news, company profiles, industry information, and federal and state laws and legislation. This is a great option for full text of some web published Atlantic Articles
1980s to present
Advertising Age
Advertising Age, with Datacenter, provides news, reports, and statistics about the advertising industry. It covers strategic topics for marketers, including breaking news, creative companies, and original rankings. Access articles and data on marketing, media, and agencies. For off-campus access follow the database link and then create an account with the “register for free” link in the top right corner. Be sure to register with your BGSU email address to get free access through the library.

Ad $ Summary
Advertising expenditure data by brand across multiple forms of media, including: consumer magazines, newspapers, outdoor, television, and radio. The 2015 and 2016 volumes available in print at the Jerome Library.
Entertainment & Leisure Market Research 2025
Use this handbook to ocate information and statistics on the Marketing & Advertising Industry, including market assessments and market leaders. Includes sections focused on Television, Radio, Print Media, & Digital Media. Also covers analyses of various aspects of Advertising, Entertainment & Media, Film, and Music.

Statista
Statista is an online statistics portal providing access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions.

Advertisements, Commercials & Digital Images

CLIO Awards
View past winners
Ad*Access
Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.
OBIE Awards
Outdoor advertising
Ad Award Archive
Filter and view award-winning advertisements by Award (3AF, CHIAT, Clio, Multicultural Excellence, NYF, Obie, and Radio Mercury), Media (digital, out of home, print, radio and TV), and/or year (2000 - 2018).
Webby Awards
"Honoring the Best of the Internet"
ISpot TV
View advertisements by 15 Industry Categories.

Vogue Archive
A complete, searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. Includes every article, cover, photo shoot, illustration and advertisement, with rich indexing enabling users to find images by designer and brand names.
Coverage: 1892 to present

Ad Council
Public Service advertising campaigns.
Ad Forum
Directory of advertisements from broadcast, print and internet media. Can search by award winners, advertising agencies and more.
Life Magazine Archive
Google has digitized issues of Life Magazine from 1936-1972.
Advertising Archives
Search over 50,000 images of press and TV advertising, magazines, cinema posters, ephemera, and comics (UK)

ARTstor
Over one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching.
All users must register for a personal Artstor account in order to download images. Use the "register" link at the upper right after accessing the database. Licensed for BGSU Main Campus Users only. Note: Artstor is integrating with JSTOR: Access to Artstor will end August 1st, 2024. Visit the JSTOR images page.
Faculty can create course folders in ARTstor to share specific images with students. In order to access this feature, faculty must register for ARTstor instructor privileges, which requires an authorization code and password. Contact the Jerome Library reference desk for this information.