It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For the Company Presentation Project, you are required to use a library database to locate at least one article about the topic of your choice from the day's assigned chapter. (See below for full assignment instructions.)
Use one of the following databases to locate articles. After selecting one, print-out the relevant pages of the article. If the article is short, print out the entire article (but do not print out more than ~4-5 pages of each source). On the first page of the printout, you should hand write the name of the library database used to find the source (e.g., Business Source Complete).
Full-text newspapers, business information, and legal publications, including current news, company profiles, industry information, and federal and state laws and legislation. Formerly called LexisNexis Academic.
Coverage: 1984 to present Access the Wall Street Journal on Factiva. To search all available dates of the Wall Street Journal on Factiva, click on the "search" tab at the upper left, type "sc=j" in the search box to limit to the Wall Street Journal, and change the date range listed beneath the search box. Factiva access will expire in September 2017.
Company Presentation Project: The basic idea of this assignment is for you to find and report on interesting/innovative/fun stuff that’s happening in sales organizations today and that relates to one of the chapter topics. Small groups (2-3 people) will each cover one, integrated topic of their choice from the day’s chapter – and related it to a company and/or industry that they have researched. The company presentations will take place throughout the semester (students will sign up for their date). The research should include at least one source per person (note: the textbook is not a source), with at least one of the sources from a library database, and at least one of the sources from an interview with a salesperson, sales manager or sales executive that works with an outside sales force. An outside sales force is one that regularly calls on customers – either in-person or over the phone, but the key thing is that the salespeople reach out to customers at the customer’s place of work. So in other words, a retail setting is not appropriate. Most presentations likely will be about B2B sales forces, but there are many examples of B2C outside sales forces (e.g., insurance agents). A few key elements of this assignment are:
The overview: Students should turn-in an overview summarizing what they did and what they discovered. Length of this overview should be at least 300 words, but no more than 1000 words. The overview should briefly reference/explain each source (i.e., interview, article, etc.), and provide a high level overview of what you learned from your research.
The sources (again 2 person groups should have at least 2 sources; 3 person groups should have at least 3):
The interview(s): At least one source must be an interview. Students should write up each interview on a separate piece of paper. This should include the full name and contact information of the person that is interviewed, and an outline/summary of the questions and answers.
Sources from library research database: Students print-out the relevant pages of the article that they have found through one of the many library research databases. If the article is short, print out the entire article (but do not print out more than ~4-5 pages of each source). On the first page of the printout, you should hand write the name of the library database used to find the source (e.g., Business Source Complete, Factiva, etc.). More info on this will be available on Canvas.
Other sources might be websites, blogs, etc. For these, print out the main page or two.
Oral presentation: Students should make an oral presentation accompanied by a PowerPoint presentation, which should be submitted to Canvas at least 30 minutes before class starts.
Use interesting visuals (be creative!) and at least a 20-point font for the PowerPoint, which should be roughly 2-3 slides long (i.e., about 1 slide per source).
Students should make an effort to interact with the other students in the audience, and strive to make the presentation interesting/compelling (merely passing out candy is not really interaction).
FOR BONUS POINTS: Show us a short (no more than 2 minute) YouTube excerpt of the interview, etc, but this is not required. Any video shown should be one that was created by the students.
Presentations should be about 5 minutes total; each student talking a bit about their source.
Significant points will be deducted for those presentations that merely summarize/repeat material directly from the course textbook and/or PowerPoint. Your job is to bring in new material that relates to the course – most students will probably spend the most time discussing the interview(s), and that would be a good choice. Points are also deducted for students that do not contribute their fair share to the group project. Finally, the overview and “print-outs” of the sources should be stapled together and submitted in-class on the day of the presentation; and again, the PowerPoint should be submitted to Canvas at least 30 minutes before class starts.