Global Business
Conducting business in a country other than your own necessitates that you research and learn about many aspects of the culture and business environment of that country.
- First, it's important to gain a general understanding of your country. This includes a basic overview of its history, geography, government, economy, culture, people, and infrastructure.
- Search the resources below to learn about a country's market conditions, business customs, corporate culture, economic strength and stability, trade data, Industry analysis, and more.
Country Information in Library Databases
MarketLine offers excellent country reports. Search for a country name & then scroll down the screen to select Country Profiles.
- The Macroeconomic Outlook Report provides a country overview using PowerPoint slides with nice graphics. The report identifies the potential of a country as an investment destination.
- The Country Analysis Reports for 51 major countries offer in-depth PESTLE (Political, Economic, Social, Technological, Legal, and Environmental) Insights.
- The Country Analysis Reports for the top 50 - 110 countries analyze the Political, Economic, Social & Technological) structure of the country.
Business Source Complete
Search for articles in business magazines and newspapers about what you need to know about doing business in other countries.
Tips for MGMT 3900 Culture Report
- Try some of these search terms along with your country name for the Cultural Brief: business etiquette, corporate culture, business customs, women and workplace, corporate social responsibility.
- Use the Publication Date bar on the left of your search results to limit to current sources.
- Use the keywords Country Report along with a country name to locate various types of country information
ProQuest Global Newsstream
An online newspaper resource that includes international, national and regional papers such as the Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post and South China Morning Post.
Statista
An online statistics portal providing access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions.
- Statistical charts with titles such as Most problematic factors for doing business in Luxembourg according to business executives in 2017
- Detailed Country Reports with nice visuals (charts, diagrams, etc.).
Nexis-Uni
Search for articles in business magazines and newspapers about what you need to know about doing business in other countries. Be sure to use the "Guided Search" or "Advanced Search" to search the right resources. There is A LOT of information in Nexis-Uni that won't be relevant to this assignment (like case law).
Country Information on Websites (Non-Library Sources)
- BBC Country ProfilesProfiles offer a guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories.
- CIA World FactbookThe World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 265 world entities.
- Country Commercial Guides (International Trade Administration)"Market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs for over 125 countries prepared by trade and industry experts at U.S. embassies worldwide." Includes a section on Business Travel with tips on business customs, hours, holidays, language, etc.
- Cultural AtlasEducational resource offering information on cross-cultural attitudes, practices, norms, behaviors and communications for selected nationalities.
- Export Solutions (International Trade Administration)Developed by international trade experts and economists, provides market intelligence, practical advice and business tools to help U.S. companies expand in global markets. Includes global industry information, trade data and analysis.
- Global Edge: Insights by CountryOffers extensive country information including sections on the Government, Economy, Trade Statistics, Culture, and more.
- International Business, Etiquette, Manners, & Culture (UT Dallas)Source for international business etiquette, manners, and cross cultural communication for selected (about 30) countries and regions.
- International Travel (U.S. State Department)The State Department's travel.gov website provides a wealth of information about international travel, including country profiles, a travel checklist, and information specifically for students and other types of travelers.
- Resource Guide to Doing International Business in the Middle EastThis resource guide published by Dubai's Best offers links to information such as business culture and etiquette, trade and tariffs, market opportunities and strategies, and more.
- Trade Data and Analysis (International Trade Administration)Find trade data and analysis on this ITA website.
- World Bank Doing Business (Archive, 2004-2020)Offers "Doing Business" country reports on doing business, trends, opportunities, challenges, etc. Choose a country from the "Select an Economy" dropdown menu or follow the "Reports" option from the top menu bar.
- World Bank Open DataFree and open access to global development data.
Books and E-Books
Search the BGSU Library Catalog for books related to doing business in a particular country. Here are a few that cover multiple countries.
- Europa World Year BookCall Number: Reference Desk JN 1 .E85Publication Date: 2020Provides detailed country surveys containing analytical, statistical and directory data available for over 250 countries
LEAD: Leadership Effectiveness in Africa and the African Diaspora by Call Number: Online ResourcePublication Date: 2017
