Get Help from Your Librarian
Family Science and Sociology Journals
Listed below are suggested peer-reviewed journals focused on Human Development & Family Studies. If you need to search for a specific journal, use the Journals by Title search on the library's website.
- Journals by TitleSearch for scholarly journal titles available in all library databases.
- American Journal of Community Psychology (1997 - present)The American Journal of Community Psychology publishes original quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods research; theoretical papers; empirical reviews; reports of innovative community programs or policies; and first person accounts of stakeholders involved in research, programs, or policy.
- Child Abuse & NeglectAn international and interdisciplinary journal publishing articles on child welfare, health, humanitarian aid, justice, mental health, public health and social service systems.
- Child Development (Journal): 1985 - present (12 month delay)Publishes original articles on all aspects of child development, from the prenatal period through adolescence.
- Children & Youth Services Review (1979 - present)An interdisciplinary forum for critical scholarship regarding service programs for children and youth.
- Family Relations (1980 - 2013)For all professionals who work with families, including: family practitioners, educators, marriage and family therapists, researchers, and social policy specialists. The journal's content emphasizes family research with implications for intervention, education, and public policy.
- Journal of Family PsychologyThe Journal of Family Psychology is a peer-reviewed academic journal published by the American Psychological Association. It was established in 1987 and covers research in family psychology
- Journal of Family CommunicationSJR: 0.860
- Trauma, Violence, & AbuseTrauma, Violence, & Abuse (TVA), peer-reviewed and published five times per year, is a review journal devoted to organizing, synthesizing, and expanding knowledge on all forms of trauma, abuse, and violence.
Summon
Summon searches approximately 80% of the library's collections for books, eBooks, articles, and more! Watch the short video below for tips on using Summon effectively. To include resources most relevant for HDFS topics, use the Discipline filter and select the psychology, social welfare & social work, sociology & social history, and social sciences (general) disciplines.
Library Databases
These library databases include relevant sources for HDFS and sociology-related research.
- EBSCO DatabasesAccess to all of the EBSCO databases which the library subscribes to, including our most heavily-used database, Academic Search Complete. Browse a list of all EBSCO databases or use the link above to search them all at the same time. You can also connect to EBSCO then click on "Choose Databases" to link to specific EBSCO databases.
- ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)A vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, containing thousands of digital files of social science research data in political science, sociology, economics, criminal justice, and more.
- JSTORTo search for articles in a specific discipline, select "Advanced Search", enter your search terms, and scroll down to "Journal Filter" to add disciplines and/or subjects. "Development Studies", "Sociology", and "Psychology" would be best for Human Development and Family Studies.
- Nexis Uni
Full-text newspapers, business information, and legal publications, including current news, company profiles, industry information, and federal and state laws and legislation. Formerly called LexisNexis Academic.
Watch the video below for tips on effectively searching EBSCO databases.
Google Scholar
You can also use Google Scholar to explore a topic, especially if you customize your preferences so that you're able to access materials that BGSU & OhioLINK either own or have access to. Google Scholar, a search engine, is freely available, but the materials it retrieves generally are not. That's why customizing your preferences is so important.
Watch the short video below for directions on how to link your Google Scholar account to the BGSU collections.