It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Human Development & Family Studies: Home
A guide to resources in the BGSU Libraries and on the Internet that may help you research topics for Human Development and Family Studies
Summon provides an easy, simple to use discovery interface to search across 80% of our library content with just a few keywords. You can change the publication dates, limit your results to full text, to scholarly materials, or to any combination of document types.
These library databases include relevant sources for HDFS and sociology-related research.
Over 80 of the library's databases are on EBSCO, including our most heavily-used database, Academic Search Complete. Browse a list of all EBSCO databases or use the link above to search them all at the same time. You can also connect to EBSCO then click on "Choose Databases" to link to specific EBSCO databases.
A vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, containing more than 500,000 digital files of social science research data in political science, sociology, economics, criminal justice, and more.
To search for articles in a specific discipline, select "Advanced Search", enter your search terms, and scroll down to "Journal Filter" to add disciplines and/or subjects. "Development Studies", "Sociology", and "Psychology" would be best for Human Development and Family Studies.
Full-text newspapers, business information, and legal publications, including current news, company profiles, industry information, and federal and state laws and legislation. Formerly called LexisNexis Academic.
1980s to present
HDFS (& Related) Journals
Listed below are suggested peer-reviewed journals focused on Human Development & Family Studies. If you need to search for a specific journal, use the Journals by Title search on the library's website.
The American Journal of Community Psychology publishes original quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods research; theoretical papers; empirical reviews; reports of innovative community programs or policies; and first person accounts of stakeholders involved in research, programs, or policy.
For all professionals who work with families, including: family practitioners, educators, marriage and family therapists, researchers, and social policy specialists. The journal's content emphasizes family research with implications for intervention, education, and public policy.
Trauma, Violence, & Abuse (TVA), peer-reviewed and published five times per year, is a review journal devoted to organizing, synthesizing, and expanding knowledge on all forms of trauma, abuse, and violence.
Indexes books, videos, music, electronic resources from college and university libraries, the State Library of Ohio, and some large public libraries in Ohio. Request online, with delivery to Jerome Main Circulation desk in 2-4 business days.
Identify materials at tens of thousands of academic, public, and special libraries internationally. You can request things not owned by BGSU or OhioLINK via interlibrary loan -- average delivery time is 17 days.
You can also use Google Scholar to explore a topic, especially if you customize your preferences so that you're able to access materials that BGSU & OhioLINK either own or have access to. Google Scholar, a search engine, is freely available, but the materials it retrieves generally are not. That's why customizing your preferences is so important.