Start Here to Search for Books
When you know the title of the item you are seeking, the first step is to search by title in an online catalog.
- BGSU Libraries CatalogIndexes books, magazines and journals, videos, music, and electronic resources that are owned by BGSU.
- OhioLINK Central CatalogIf BGSU doesn't own the book, try the OhioLINK Central Catalog. It contains the holdings of the libraries at more than 80 colleges and universities throughout Ohio. You can request OhioLINK books online and have them delivered in 2-4 days.
- WorldCatWorldCat is a database of the holdings of many libraries throughout North American and some other countries. If you identify a publication you want to borrow, you can use your Interlibrary Loan (ILL) account to request it.
A Few Useful Reference Books
Reference books are useful for identifying people, places, events, dates, etc. Many articles in reference books include a bibliography of recommended sources. Here is a a very small sample of the reference books that may be useful.
Encyclopedia of Aging by Call Number: ref HQ1061 .E53 2006 v.1-2ISBN: 9780826148438Publication Date: 2006-02-01
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care by Call Number: ref RC954 .E53 2008ISBN: 9780826102591Publication Date: 2007-10-01
Encyclopedia of Gerontology by Call Number: ref RC952.5 .E58 2007 v.1-2ISBN: 9780123705303Publication Date: 2006-11-30
Encyclopedia of Geropsychology by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9789812870810Publication Date: 2017-01-19
The Gale Encyclopedia of Senior HealthCall Number: Request from FirelandsISBN: 9781414403830Publication Date: 2008-12-05
Handbook of the Sociology of Aging by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781441973740Publication Date: 2011-01-01
The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Adulthood and Aging by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781118392966Publication Date: 2012-07-02
Encyclopedia of Aging and Public Health by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780387354194Publication Date: 2008-01-16
Searching for E-Books
The library provides access to hundreds of thousands of ebooks from a variety of sources. For information about ebooks, see the online guide to Ebooks.