LibGuides: Criminal Justice: Statistics

U.S. Government Statistics

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives: Library
Links to publications on the work of the department, an agency of the U.S. Justice Department.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
This site compiles a wide variety of criminal justice statistics published by the Bureau of Justice Statistics, part of the U.S. Justice Department.
Campus Safety and Security Data Analysis Cutting Tool
Data on campus safety and security from the U.S. Department of Education.
Corrections Statistical Analysis Tool (CSAT) -- Parole
A U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics tool to allows you to use data from the Annual Parole Survey.
Corrections Statistical Analysis Tool (CSAT) -- Probation
A U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics analytical tool that allows you to use data from the Annual Probation Survey.
Drug Enforcement Administration: Statistics & Facts
Includes statistics of DEA arrests, drug seizures and meth lab incidents, plus links to related resources.
Federal Bureau of Prisons: Research & Reports
Links to Bureau of Prisons data, plus links to related resources.
Mass Murder With Firearms: Incidents and Victims, 1999-2013
This Congressional Research Service report provides data and other information about mass shootings
National Center for Education Statistics: Crime and Safety Surveys
Data reports on school crime, safety, violence, and discipline.
National Center for Education Statistics: School Survey on Crime and Safety
Data on school crime and safety
Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention: Research and Statistics
Prisoner Recidivism Analysis Tool (PRAT)
A tool that allows you to calculate the recidivism rate of prisoners who were released from state prisons in 2005. These prisoners were followed after release and data added to this tool that permits this analysis.
A Study of Active Shooter Incidents in the United States Between 2000 and 2013
This FBI report provides data and other information about mass shootings
U.S. Marshals Service: Fact Sheets
Data about the work of the U.S. Marshals Service
Uniform Crime Reports
The FBI's Uniform Crime Reports include a number of reports, such as: Crime in the United States, Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted, Hate Crime Statistics, and the National Incident-Based Reporting System.

State Government Statistics

Correctional and Public Health Resources by State
Links to state agencies and resources about corrections and public health for all states. A resources of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault, and Stalking Data Resource Center
Links to agencies and reports for each state.
Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Correction: Departmental Reports
Includes links to departmental reports, which often include statistics about the work of the department.
Ohio Office of Criminal Justice Services: Crime Statistics and Crime Reports
Includes links to a variety of state and national sources of statistics. State reports include Quarterly Crime Reports for Ohio, Crime by County, Ohio Criminal Justice Statistics, Homicides in Ohio, Ohio Incident-Based Reporting System, etc.

Hall of Justice

Hall of Justice
The website explains: "Hall of Justice contains nearly 10,000 datasets and research documents from all 50 states, the District of Columbia, U.S. territories and the federal government. The data was collected between September 2014 and October 2015."

Statistical Databases

Henry A. Wallace Police Crime Database
A database of thousands of criminal arrest cases of nonfederal sworn law enforcement officers in the United States (e.g., police officers, state troopers, deputy sheriffs) from the years 2005-2018. The database can be searched by crime, location, or victim with a number of filters to facilitate detailed responses. It is a project of BGSU professor Philip M. Stinson, Sr., J.D., Ph.D., and his Police Integrity Research Group.
The Police Crime Database includes summary information on thousands of criminal arrest cases involving individual nonfederal sworn law enforcement officers, each of whom were charged with one or more crimes.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
A vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, containing thousands of digital files of social science research data in political science, sociology, economics, criminal justice, and more.
Pew Research Center Publications
Full text reports, analysis, news and data from the Pew Research Center, a nonpartisan research organization that conducts public opinion polls and social science research.
Coverage: 2005 to present
PolicyMap (public version)
PolicyMap is an online US national data and mapping tool and analytics platform for demographic and socioeconomic analysis. PolicyMap data can be presented as maps, tables, charts and pre-built reports that can be incorporated into papers, presentations, blogs and websites. BGSU has access to the limited, free version of the software.
Coverage: 2000 to current
Statista
Statista is an online statistics portal providing access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions.

Other Statistical Sources

Gun Violence Archive
Tracks reports of gun violence from news sources and police reports
Gun Violence Archive: Mass Shootings
Reports on incidents in which multiple people have been shot.
Math of Mass Shootings
This special report from the Washington Post provides statistics and other information on mass shootings.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
A very large collection of governmental and nongovernmental data.
NationMaster: Crime
Criminal justice statistics from many countries.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
A compilation of criminal justice statistics from both governmental and nongovernmental sources. A project of the University at Albany.
TRAC
A research unit at Syracuse University that analyzes federal data about enforcement, staffing and spending.
U.S. Mass Shootings, 1982-2021: Data From Mother Jones' Investigation
Information for incidents in which 4 or more people were killed in an "indiscriminate outburst"
United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime: Data and Analysis
World Drug Report: 2022
World Prison Brief
A database of information on prisons worldwide