LibGuides: Criminal Justice: Articles

Recommended Databases

Start with these research databases when searching for criminal justice and criminology topics.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Full text articles as well as indexing and abstracting for publications on criminology, corrections and prisons, criminal investigation, forensics, and more.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Index to scholarly publications in sociology, covering topics such as criminal justice, marriage and family, social work, substance abuse, and violence.
Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary, full-text database that includes scholarly journal articles on all subjects, as well as magazines, books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
Coverage: 1887 to present; most full text is 1975 to present.
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)
Thousands of U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents related to homeland security, as well as specialized resources from universities, organizations, and local and state agencies. As of 2/28/2025, the Homeland Security Digital Library is temporarily unavailable. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Publications
Summaries and full text of criminal justice publications, including government documents, books, reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Topics covered include corrections, courts, crime prevention, drugs, the justice system, and more. Due to executive orders, some information on this site may be unavailable. 3/5/2025
Web of Science
Index to articles in scholarly journals and conference proceedings from all fields of study, plus the ability to search these articles' bibliographies by cited author or work. Links to full text are included where possible.
Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center provides resources that present multiple sides of an issue, with content designed to help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues, and develop analytical thinking skills. Search by topic to find an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument) on each entry.
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside
A full text archive of hundreds of newspapers published in U.S. prisons since 1800.

Find Full Text Articles

To find full text journals, see the Journal Title List page.

Journal Title List

Is It a Scholarly Journal?

Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory
Entries include information about whether the journal or magazine is a scholarly journal, consumer magazine, etc.

Additional strategies

Search the internet for the web site of the journal, which frequently includes instruction for authors. Some instructions will use the phrase "peer reviewed." Others will say that manuscripts are sent for blind review, reviewed by a committee, or anonymously reviewed.
As you search for articles in the library's research databases, look for an option to limit your search to scholarly journals or peer-reviewed journals. These kinds of filters aren't perfect. It is still important to double-check the journal's web site if you have any doubts.