Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use Databases to Find Communication Research Articles
Out of the hundreds of library research databases, the one most often used for communication studies topics is Communication and Mass Media Complete. This database offers full text for nearly 200 journals and abstracts for over 300 more.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Indexing, abstracts and full text for journals in communication studies, covering topics such as journalism, mass media, and communicative disorders.
- Click on Communication and Mass Media Complete in the box above
- Enter your search terms
- When your results come up in the database, click on "Academic Journals" on the left side of the results screen. This will eliminate SOME of the magazines/journals that are not appropriate for research assignments..
- Note: Even if you limit to "Academic Journals" within the database, you still need to evaluate the article to make sure it meets the criteria for a scholarly article. You may stumble onto book reviews or editorials published within academic journals that are not the feature length research articles you are likely seeking.
Summon Search of Communication Journals
This will search the journals listed in the "Communication Journals" below. Do not remove the existing search. Enter your search terms before the ISSN numbers in parentheses.
Example:parasocial (ISSN:(1479-5787 OR 1479-5809 OR 1479-1420 OR 1479-5779 OR 1751-3065 OR 1479-5752 OR 1479-5760 OR 1460-2466 OR 1468-2958 OR 1050-3293 OR 1083-6101 OR 1753-9129 OR 1077-6990 OR 1522-6379 OR 0196-8599 OR 1522-6379 OR 0196-8599 OR 1520-5436 OR 1555-1393 OR 1534-8423 OR 1051-0974 OR 0146-3373 OR 1057-0314 OR 1041-794X OR 1745-9435 OR 1041-0236 OR 1461-4448 OR 0163-4437 OR 1540-5702 OR 1369-118X OR 0883-8151 OR 1081-0730 OR 0265-4075))