LibGuides: COMM 1020: Introduction to Public Speaking: Speeches

Using Visual Aids

How to Use Visual Aids During a Speech

Databases for Visual Aids

Statista
Statista is an online statistics portal providing access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions.
PolicyMap (public version)
PolicyMap is an online US national data and mapping tool and analytics platform for demographic and socioeconomic analysis. PolicyMap data can be presented as maps, tables, charts and pre-built reports that can be incorporated into papers, presentations, blogs and websites. BGSU has access to the limited, free version of the software.
Coverage: 2000 to current
ARTstor
Over one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching.
All users must register for a personal Artstor account in order to download images. Use the "register" link at the upper right after accessing the database. Licensed for BGSU Main Campus Users only. Note: Artstor is integrating with JSTOR: Access to Artstor will end August 1st, 2024. Visit the JSTOR images page.
Faculty can create course folders in ARTstor to share specific images with students. In order to access this feature, faculty must register for ARTstor instructor privileges, which requires an authorization code and password. Contact the Jerome Library reference desk for this information.
Social Explorer
Social Explorer provides quick and easy access to modern and historical socioeconomic and demographic data, bringing together quantitative data with a visual interface to make demographic research, the analysis of social trends, and comparison of neighborhoods, communities, counties, and other areas accessible and interactive.
Sage Data Foundations
Sage Data Foundations is a dynamic tool which enables users to scan and search the contents of billions of datasets from the United States. Results can be compared and contrasted, and viewed in customizable tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations, as well as Woods & Poole Economics, Inc.
Image Collection (EBSCO)
Thousands of images relating to people, natural science, places, history, maps, and flags. The collection consists of a wide array of photos and maps, with an emphasis on world news and events. Other areas of coverage include contemporary and historical photos of people, places, and the natural kingdom.

Speech Collections

American Rhetoric
Dr. Michael Eidenmuller of the University of Texas at Tyler has created Speech Bank: a free online database with full-text, audio, and video of over 5,000 speeches
UVA Miller Center: Famous Presidential Speeches
Includes transcript, audio, and video (where available)
Academy Awards Acceptance Speech Database
Transcripts and sometimes videos of acceptance speeches. Not comprehensive, but worth trying!
American Leaders Speak
Part of the Library of Congress American Memory Project
TED Talks
"Ideas worth spreading."