Reference & Instruction Librarian
Chat With Us
Library Search
Use Library Search to search through all BGSU library content, both digital and physical. You can change the publication dates, select specific materials, and search online full text only, among other search filters.
Learn more in this video:
Research Databases
You can search all of EBSCO to identify scholarly and non-scholarly articles. However, you may have better results if you use a morespecialized article database depending on how discipline-specific your topic is. For example, if you select a topic that has something to do with teacher compensation at charter schools, using an education database will mostly return results from an education-related perspective.
-
EBSCO Databases This link opens in a new windowAccess to all of the EBSCO databases which the library subscribes to, including our most heavily-used database, Academic Search Complete. Browse a list of all EBSCO databases or use the link above to search them all at the same time. You can also connect to EBSCO then click on "Choose Databases" to link to specific EBSCO databases.
-
Business Source CompleteProvides information on all disciplines of business. In addition to journal and magazine articles, content includes financial data, books, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
-
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexing, abstracts and full text for journals in communication studies, covering topics such as journalism, mass media, and communicative disorders.
-
Education Research CompleteA comprehensive database of articles about all fields of education, including curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. Most coverage is from 1925 to present, but some titles go back as far as 1882.
-
GreenFILEGreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
-
PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new windowThe premier index to journal articles and other scholarly publications in the field of psychology.
-
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndex to scholarly publications in sociology, covering topics such as criminal justice, marriage and family, social work, substance abuse, and violence.
Research Databases for Finding Information about Speech Topics
You may want to begin by doing some background research on your topic. The following databases provide short readings on topics, newspaper/magazine articles, pro/con discussions, and counterpoints.
-
Points of View Reference CenterThe perfect resource for writing persuasive essays! Search by topic to find an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument) on each. Search for current events or controversial topics to find materials supporting a variety of viewpoints. Includes essays and articles from leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
-
TOPICsearchFull text articles about current social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other popular topics.
-
Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of short ebooks (around 100 pages each) that offer concise expert overviews of a diverse range of concepts. Subjects include climate, consciousness, game theory, ancient warfare, economics, and literary theory.
Alternate access link: http://proxy.ohiolink.edu:9099/login?url=https://academic.oup.com/pages/very-short-introductionsCoverage: 1995-present
Users: Unlimited
Contains: Online editions of over 600 short books in the Oxford University Press series "Very Short Introductions."
Best for: A wide range of subjects
Printing: Print individual chapters from PDF
Download: Individual chapters only for most texts
Compatible with: Any PDF compatible device/browser