LibGuides: Social Work: Statistics

Data Directory

The links below will lead you to a variety of links to data resources. Included are resources such as Global Health Data, Geographic Information Systems (GIS), Health Surveys, and Tools for Data Collection and Planning.

Data.gov
A U.S. government data archive.
HealthData.gov
A U.S. government repository of health data.
Health Data Tools and Statistics
From Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce. A collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries.
Health Statistics & Data Sources (University of Minnesota)
Includes health data sources from the U.S., other countries, and international agencies.
Re3Data.org
A directory of research data repositories.
U.S. Data and Statistics
Find data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.

Health Indicators

Find statistics: Statistical research databases

Sage Data Foundations
Sage Data Foundations is a dynamic tool which enables users to scan and search the contents of billions of datasets from the United States. Results can be compared and contrasted, and viewed in customizable tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations, as well as Woods & Poole Economics, Inc.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
A vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, containing thousands of digital files of social science research data in political science, sociology, economics, criminal justice, and more.
PolicyMap (public version)
PolicyMap is an online US national data and mapping tool and analytics platform for demographic and socioeconomic analysis. PolicyMap data can be presented as maps, tables, charts and pre-built reports that can be incorporated into papers, presentations, blogs and websites. BGSU has access to the limited, free version of the software.
Coverage: 2000 to current
Statista
Statista is an online statistics portal providing access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions.

Find data: Selected non-government sources

AARP Research (American Association of Retired Persons)
Census & LGBT Demographic Studies (UCLA)
Center on Aging and Work at Boston College: Search Facts Database
Children's Defense Fund: U.S. State Child Data
Children of Immigrants Data Tool (Urban Institute)
Disabiity Statistics (Cornell University)
Guttmacher Institute: United States
Statistics on sexual and reproductive health
Institute for Research on Poverty (University of Wisconsin - Madison)
Start with the Research tab. "IRP researches the causes and consequences of poverty and inequality in the United States. We bring together social scientists from across research disciplines such as economics, sociology, social work, and demography. The result is a well-rounded understanding of poverty issues."
Kinsey Institute: FAQs & Statistics
Selected statistics about sexuality, gender, reproduction, etc.
Measure of America
Interactive mapping tool that includes data on income, health, and income
Migration Policy Institute: Migration Data Hub
National Alliance to End Homelessness: Data
National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging
National Center for Children in Poverty: Data Tools
Pew Research Center: Download Datasets
Poverty Solutons: Poverty Facts (University of Michigan)
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
State Health Facts (Kaiser Family Foundation)

Find data: Selected U.S. government statistics

Many government agencies collect data and share it with the public on their web sites.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality: Data
AgingStats.gov
Annual Homeless Assessment Reports (HUD)
Bureau of Justice Statistics
CDC FastStats: Statistics by Topic (U.S. Centers for Disease Control & Prevention)
CDC Wonder (U.S. Centers for Disease Control & Prevention)
Center for Disease Control and Prevention: Data & Statistics
Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services: Statistics
ChildStats.gov
Child Welfare Information Gateway: Statistics
Department of Homeland Security: Immigration Data & Statistics
FBI: Crime in the United States and Hate Crime Statistics
Food & Nutrition Service Data and Statistics (USDA)
Statistics on nutrition assistance programs (WIC, SNAP, school meals, etc.)
Healthy People
"Healthy People provides 10-year, measurable public health objectives — and tools to help track progress toward achieving them."
Kids Count Data Center
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (CDC)
National Center for Health Statistics
National Data Archive on Child Abuse & Neglect (NDACAN)
National Institute of Mental Health: Statistics
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse & Alcoholism: Epidemiologic Data
National Institute on Drug Abuse: Trends & Statistics
Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention: Statistical Briefing Book
Social Security: Research, Statistics, & Policy Anaysis
Statistical Abstract of the United States 1878-2012
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration: Data
U.S. Census Bureau: Index A to Z
Browse census topics organized alphabetically.
U.S. House. Committee on Ways and Means: Green Book
Data about federal programs.
Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (CDC)