Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Rare Books Collection at the Center for Archival Collections: Poetry (Special Collections B)

Overview of the Collection

The Frederick F. and Thomas F. Eckman Memorial Collection (also known as Special Collections B) consists of poetry books and periodicals with a strong emphasis on mid-twentieth century poetry and criticism. Collected by retired BGSU English professor Frederick F. Eckman in memory of his son Thomas, Eckman’s personal library is the basis for the collection and reflects both his academic and personal interests.

The addition of the Robert Peters (1992 and later additions) and Carol Berge Collections (1993+) brought the focus to include late twentieth century American poetry and expanded coverage to include a wider range of English-speaking and foreign poets. 

Overall Special Collections B contains 9,000+ items. Notable authors in the collection include: Maya Angelou, Carol Berge, Gwendolyn Brooks, Charles Bukowski,  Kirby Congdon, Billy Collins, Robert Creeley, Judson Crews, E.E. cummings, James Dickey, Ray Di Palma, Edward Dorn, Rita Dove, Robert Duncan, Frederick Eckman, Lawrence Durell, T.S. Eliot, Theodore Enslin, Clayton Eshleman, Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Robert Frost, Federico Garcia Lorca, Allen Ginsberg, Thom Gunn, H.D., Donald Hall, Anselm Hollo, Ted Hughes, Kenneth Koch, James Laughlin, Denise Levertov, D.A. Levy, Lyn Lifshin, Robert Lowell, Paul Mariah, Michael McClure, Thomas Merton, W.S. Merwin, Josephine Miles, Edna St. Vincent Millay, Marianne Moore, Pablo Neruda, Charles Olson, Kenneth Patchen, Robert Peters, Sylvia Plath, Ezra Pound, Margaret Randall, Kenneth Rexroth, Rainer Maria Rilke, Jerome Rothenberg, Siegfried Sassoon, Laurel Speer, Dylan Thomas, Diane Wakoski, William Carlos Williams, and James Wright,  among others.

Poem sent to Robert Peters (Robert Peters Collection)

Fish from Robert Peters' Collection

Secondary Resources

Carol Bergé Collection

"Purchased in 1993, the Carol Bergé Collection consists of manuscripts and books related to the author/poet. Additions to the manuscript collection were made in 1994 and in 2012. The manuscript collection consists of correspondence, subject files (poets and poetry publishing), and literary manuscripts." -- Carol Bergé finding aid

 For more information about the manuscript collection, please visit the collection's finding aid.

The book collection contains works and periodicals by or about Ms. Bergé and her circle. All books by Bergé within the collection are the poet's personal copy.

Robert Peters Collection

"Purchaed in 1991, with additions made in 1996 and 1999, the Robert Peters Collection consists of manuscripts and books related to the author/poet. The manuscript collection consists of correspondence, subject files (poets and poetry publishing), literary manuscripts and journals." -- Robert Peters finding aid 

For more information about the manuscript collection, please visit the collection's finding aid.

General Collection Highlights