Overview of the Collection
Special Collection A is an important auxiliary to the Rare Books Collection. Most of the works housed here are materials needing special handling or protection because they are fragile or contain fine prints, slides, and unbound plates.
Subject strengths include British theater and ballet, occult fiction, early periodicals, ephemera judged to be primary research material, and selected paperbacks, including the Penguin and Pelican series, as well as those with high monetary value. Other interesting sub-collections include the Maxfield Parrish collection.
Art/Art History
In addition to the Art materials housed in the Main Stacks, SCA has a wide collection of materials related to the history and study of art. Highlights in the collection include, exhibition catalogs, high quality art books with reprints from famous artists (Dali, Van Gogh, Rembrandt, Klimt, Picasso, etc.), and museum collection catalogs. Materials in the collection include both western and non-western art. 2-D and 3-D, including decorative arts catalogs are also represented.
In addition to these works, the SCA collection also holds materials by BGSU alum, Rick Valicenti.
- Whitney biennial 2004 byCall Number: sca N6512 .W532 2004Publication Date: 2004Box Contents: 24 booklets, 19 cards, 7 bumper stickers, 5 film strips, 53 posters
- One hundred prints by 100 artists of the Art Students League of New York, 1875-1975 : [exhibition], April 22-May 17, 1975, at Associated American Artists, New York City byCall Number: sca NE507.N48 1975Publication Date: 1975
- Chinese folk art in American collections, early 15th through early 20th centuries byCall Number: sca NK1068 .E24Publication Date: 1976
- Libbey glass ; a tradition of 150 years, 1818-1968 byCall Number: sca NK5112 .K4Publication Date: 1968
Supernatural/Paranormal/Occult
- Astrology and psychological warfare during World War II byCall Number: sca BF1679.H5 1972Publication Date: 1972
- The most haunted house in England: ten years' investigation of Borley Rectory byCall Number: sca BF1030 .B6P7Publication Date: 1940
- Dictionary of the occult & supernatural: an A to Z of hauntings, possession, witchcraft, demonlogy and other occult phenomena byCall Number: sca BF1407.U52 1979Publication Date: 1979
Theatre, Opera and Ballet
- New British theatre: consisting of fifty-six tragedies and comedies, with fifty-six farces. All of them the most esteemed that are performed on the British stageCall Number: sca PR1245 .N49 1787Publication Date: 1787
- The modern theatre: a study of dramatists and the drama byCall Number: sca PN1851.B4 1948Publication Date: 1948
- Shakespeare Memorial Theatre a photographic record byCall Number: sca PR2924.S7S5Publication Date: 1948
- A song of love and death: the meaning of opera byCall Number: sca ML1700.C668 1987Publication Date: 1987
- The Abbey Theatre series of plays: a bibliography byCall Number: sca PR8789.F73 1970Publication Date: 1970
- Polly, an opera: being the sequel to the Beggar's opera, now freely adapted by Clifford Bax byCall Number: sca ML50.5.P76 1923bPublication Date: 1923
- Ballet: a complete guide to appreciation, history, aesthetics, ballets, dancers byCall Number: sca GV1787.H25 1938cPublication Date: 1938
- The Village players, Great Hucklow, present twenty-five years of play producing: 1927-1952: a record byCall Number: sca PN2596.G7V54Publication Date: 1952
- Stage scenery and lighting: a handbook for non-professionals byCall Number: sca PN2091.S8S45 1936Publication Date: 1936
- The tenth muse : a historical study of the opera libretto byCall Number: sca ML2110.S62 1971Publication Date: 1971
- Catalogue of costumes and curtains from Diaghilev and de Basil ballets byCall Number: sca GT1741.S67 1973Publication Date: 1973
Rick Valicenti Collection
A graduate of Bowling Green State University, in 1973, Rick Valicenti is a graphic designer. The Valicenti collection consists of commerical representations of Valicenti's work in journals/periodicals, original pieces, and slides of Polish posters (commerical, theatrical, etc.).
This collection is still being cataloged.
- I.D. August 2001 : the international design magazineCall Number: sca TS1 .I515 2001Publication Date: 2001
- Eye. n. 21 vol. 6 Summer 1996 : the international review of graphic designCall Number: sca NC1 .E94 1996Publication Date: 1996