Start With These Databases
- America: History & Life (EBSCO)Citations to articles, dissertations, etc. on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Index to scholarly journal articles from international historical journals, covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- JSTORFull text scholarly journals covering a variety of topics, including history. Some journals date back to the late 1700s.
Other Useful Databases
- American Periodicals Series Online, 1741 - 1940'sSearchable database of full text articles from a wide variety of American periodicals published between 1741 and the mid 1940's. This a great place to find articles, illustrations, recipes, poems, ads, etc. published during this time period.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North AmericaAn index covering all aspects of culture, history, and life of Indigenous peoples in North America.
- Ethnic NewsWatch 1959 - presentEthnic NewsWatch is a full text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press of the United States. It provides articles from over 315 national and regional publications in English and Spanish and is completely searchable in both languages.
- Handbook of Latin America Studies 1990 - presentIndex to books and book chapters, articles, and conference proceedings published worldwide in the field of Latin American Studies. Indexes articles about Native Americans in New Mexico.
- Humanities International Complete
Index to scholarly articles covering topics such as history, music, literature, philosophy and religion.
- Web of Science, with Conference Proceedings (ISI), 1965 - presentSearches citations to scholarly articles and papers on all topics from over 10,000 journals and 110,000 conference proceedings. It includes three parts: Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present), and Science Citation Index Expanded (1965-present). This database is particularly useful for citation searching.
Summon
Summon is a new service that allows you to quickly search, discover and access reliable and credible library content in digital and print formats, audio and video, single articles and entire e-journals, and every format in between. Enter your terms in one search box, and quickly get credible results in one relevancy-ranked list.
Find Full Text Articles
Useful Print Indexes
Poole's Index to International Literature, 1802 - 1906
MAIN REF INDEX AI 3 .P7
Social Sciences & Humanities Index, 1965 - 1974
MAIN REF INDEX AI 3 .R49