HIST 6210: Early America and its Neighbors, 1500-1750: Internet Sites

These letters were published in Latin or German and are not available at this site in English.

"When complete, the project will make available to the world approximately 650,000 digitized pages of all known archival and manuscript materials in the Harvard Library that relate to 17th- and 18th-century North America."

An account book about goods imported, including slaves.

Jesuit Priest Sebastien Rasles had a mission with the Abenaki Indians and, along with at least 100 Indians, was killed by a force of English militia and Indians.

Full view in Hathi Trust, volumes 1-15

Court documents about witchcraft and other crimes.

London agent of the Massachusetts Bay Colony

Gallica is a search engine for a French digital library. It includes many volumes about New France, although many were written in French.

The collection consists of the great majority of Edwards’ surviving manuscripts including over one thousand sermons, private theological and philosophical notebooks, correspondence, printed materials, and artifacts.

This site links to a wide variety of resources, some of which are about New France.

"The Virginia Museum of History & Culture launched Unknown No Longer in 2011 to make accessible biographical details of enslaved Virginians from unpublished historical records in its collections. At the beginning of 2019, the unique content of Unknown No Longer was moved to be hosted on the Virginia Untold portal operated by the Library of Virginia, providing users with access to an expanded collection of resources for researching African American history in Virginia."

Part of the Thomas Jefferson Papers

"The Library of Virginia's African American Narrative project aims to provide great accessibility to pre-1865 African American history and genealogy found in the rich primary sources in its holdings."

A database of ads from 18th & 19th century Virginia newspapers for runaway and captured enslaved people

A Muslim merchant describes his capture and enslavement.

An account of a slave revolt upon a ship.

A description of the slave trade by a slave trader.

Request for a certain number of slave children for sale.

"The Virginia Museum of History & Culture launched Unknown No Longer in 2011 to make accessible biographical details of enslaved Virginians from unpublished historical records in its collections. At the beginning of 2019, the unique content of Unknown No Longer was moved to be hosted on the Virginia Untold portal operated by the Library of Virginia, providing users with access to an expanded collection of resources for researching African American history in Virginia."

"The Library of Virginia's African American Narrative project aims to provide great accessibility to pre-1865 African American history and genealogy found in the rich primary sources in its holdings."

There's a guide to using this collection at http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/help-with-your-research/research-guides/america-west-indies-calendar-state-papers-colonial-1573-1739/

Although the focus of this collection is western Pennsylvania, it contains volumes on Massachusetts, Virginia, and the slave trade.

Correspondence and writings of six major shapers of the United States

Includes maps