LibGuides: HIST 6210: Early America and its Neighbors, 1500-1750: Articles

Magazine Articles

American Periodicals Series Online, 1741-1900, 1741 - 1940's
Searchable database of full text articles from a wide variety of American periodicals published between 1741 and the mid 1940's (despite the dates in the title). This a great place to find articles, illustrations, recipes, poems, ads, etc. published during the very end of the time period for this course. NOTE: This database is available to BGSU students, faculty, and staff and walk-in users.
Internet Library of Early Journals
Free Internet site with browsable and searchable of six British magazines: Annual Register (1758-1778), Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine (1843-1863), Gentleman's Magazine (1731-1750), Notes and Queries (1849-1869), Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society (1757-1777), and The Builder (1843-1852)

Identifying Newspapers

You can identify newspapers that were published in a particular place at a particular time by using the historical U.S. newspapers directory at the Chronicling America web site.

Pre-1750 Newspapers in the Microform Collection at BGSU

Massachusetts: Boston News-Letter, April 17, 1704 - Feb. 29, 1776 (Microcard)
Shelved at the Reserve Desk.

Accessible Archives: Pre-1750 Newspapers

We have access to the following newspapers from the Accessible Archives database:

Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800
Virginia Gazette, 1736-1780

South Carolina newspapers 1732-1780:

South Carolina Gazette, 1732-1775

NOTE: This research database is available only to BGSU Faculty, Staff, and Students, and Walk-In Users.

Other Sources of Full Text Online Newspapers

Access NewspaperARCHIVE, coverage varies: 1700's - present
This database contains millions of searchable newspaper pages from Ohio. Dates of coverage vary, but some newspapers are available back to 1800. Some newspapers have coverage for only a few years, while others have coverage for long spans. NOTE: This research database is available only to BGSU Faculty, Staff, and Students, and Walk-In Users.
Geography of Slavery in Virginia
A database of ads from 18th & 19th century Virginia newspapers for runaway and captured enslaved people
London Gazette 1665-present
The official newspaper of the British government. Also includes Edinburgh Gazette and Belfast Gazette.
Maryland Gazette Collection 1728-1839
New York Gazette 1753, 1755-1759
Also includes issues of the New York Mercury
North Carolina Newspaper Digitization Project: 1751-1898
Includes copies of a few newspapers published before 1764. These include: North-Carolina Gazette, Nov. 15, 1751; Mar. 6, 13, 1752; July 7, undated copy, 1753; Apr. 15, 1757; Oct. 18, 1759 and The North Carolina Gazette and Wilmington Post boy, [1756-1766] (some issues missing)
Virginia Gazette 1736-1780 (Williamsburg)