African American studies databases
- 20th Century African-American PoetryFull text of 12,000 20th century works by more than 100 African-American poets.
- African Journal ArchiveSearch and browse full text issues from 20 scholarly journals published in Africa, including journals in the subject areas of classics, biology, art, law, medicine, geology, and the humanities.
- African-American Poetry 1760-1900Full text of almost 3,000 poems written by African-American poets in the late 18th and 19th centuries.
- National Underground Railroad Freedom Center E-BooksThirteen texts in the OhioLINK EBC related to the study of slavery in American history, including reference works and digital versions of important historical titles.
Hispanic American studies databases
- Chicano DatabaseIndex to books and journal articles about Chicanos and the broader Latino experience.
- Handbook of Latin American StudiesIndex to books and book chapters, articles, and conference proceedings published worldwide in the field of Latin American Studies.
Focused Databases on Native Americans
Search Summon
Power search library resources and more!
Select Article Databases
These are just a few databases that you might find useful. Many others are available from our menu of All Databases.
- Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary full-text database that includes scholarly journal articles on all subjects as well as magazines, books and book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
- History Commons
The Accessible Archives collection within History Commons includes text primary sources from 18th and 19th century America, mainly newspapers, including the Pennsylvania Gazette, the Virginia Gazette, Godey's Lady's Book, Frederick Douglass Paper, a collection of South Carolina Newspapers, and a collection of African American newspapers
- African American Newspapers (1827-1998)The full text of hundreds of U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states dating from 1827 to 1998 and published by African Americans.
- America: History & Life (EBSCO)Index to scholarly journal articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersSearch and view the full text of hundreds of digitized historical newspapers from 42 states, with titles dating from 1789-1963.
- Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)Index to core English-language journals, books, and yearbooks in education, many of which are full text.
- Education Research CompleteIndex to and full text of articles about all fields of education and all educational specialties.
- Ethnic Diversity SourceThis full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
- Ethnic Diversity SourceThis full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
- Ethnic NewsWatchA database that searches the full text of newspapers, magazines and journals published by the ethnic, minority and native press of the United States.
- Ethnic NewsWatchA database that searches the full text of newspapers, magazines and journals published by the ethnic, minority and native press of the United States.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full TextBooks and articles covering research in television and film.
- Humanities International CompleteIndex to scholarly articles covering topics such as history, music, literature, philosophy and religion.
- JSTOROver a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s.
- MLA International BibliographyA detailed index to journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations published on subjects in modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
- OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC)A full text searchable database of electronic journal articles from thousands of academic journals from top scholarly publishers, academic societies, and university presses. The EJC covers a wide range of disciplines and contains recently published scientific research as well as historical journal articles, with new articles added daily.
- Project MUSE - Standard CollectionAn interdisciplinary collection of hundreds of high quality, peer reviewed, scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. All titles in the Standard Collection are full text.
- PsycINFO 1887-CurrentThe premier index to journal articles and other scholarly publications in the field of psychology.
- SocINDEX with Full TextIndex to scholarly publications in sociology, covering topics such as criminal justice, marriage and family, social work, substance abuse, and violence.
Peer Reviewed or Scholarly FAQ
What are scholarly or peer reviewed articles?
Professors often require students to find scholarly and peer reviewed articles. These items:
- generally focus on scholarly research
- are written by experts in the field or discipline
- are critically reviewed by other experts before publication
- contain cited references to the information sources used
How do I find scholarly or peer reviewed articles?
Many of the library's databases contain scholarly or peer reviewed material and allow you to limit your search to include only these articles in the results. Use the advanced search feature in a database to find the option to limit to this type of search.
Click here for more information on scholarly, popular and trade publications.
Subject Headings or Keywords for Asian American studies
To search for articles on Asian Americans, the most common term used is, of course, Asian Americans in many databases. However, there are others you can use.
Broader terms
- Asians
- Minority groups
- Ethnic groups
Narrower or very specific terms
- Pacific Islanders
- Chinese Americans
- Korean Americans
- Filipino Americans
- Japanese Americans
- Cambodians
- Hmong People
- Indochinese
- Laotians
- Pacific Americans
- Vietnamese People
- Asian American Students