Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Core Databases: Finding Articles
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
A searchable database of information about authors and their works. Includes biographies, portraits, critical essays, excerpts of literary criticism, summaries of works, and full text journal articles. Much of the content was originally published in such Gale series as Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, Short Story Criticism, etc.
Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary full-text database that includes peer-reviewed journals, and a great resource for finding articles on any topic. Indexing and abstracting are in English, even when an article is written in another language. To find articles written in Spanish, conduct your search in English and then, once you have a list of results, click on the Advanced Search link and then from the Language list, select Spanish. Another strategy is to search using terms in Spanish.
MLA International Bibliography
MLA provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Annually, it indexes more than 45,000 scholarly books and articles, including works about literature transmitted orally, in print, or in audiovisual media and about human language, including both natural languages and invented languages (e.g., Esperanto). Coverage 1926 to present.
You may also find these databases helpful for your project:
A full-text database of scholarly journals in humanities, sciences, and social sciences. The included titles go back to the first issue, although the most recent 3 to 5 years are not included. Be careful: this database searches the full text of articles, not just indexing and abstracting. To find articles written in Spanish, use the advanced search feature and select Spanish from the drop-down list of languages. You will need to search using both languages to conduct a thorough search.
A comprehensive selection of peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. It is also the sole source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many leading university presses and scholarly societies. Coverage varies (1993 to present). You can access articles in Project Muse via MLA, but its search capabilities allow you to conduct full-text searches of articles, not just searches of indexing and abstracting. Search using both languages to be thorough.
For your project, you may want to use articles because they tend to be shorter and more focused than a book. However, books can be a great source of background information, especially for historical context.
Check out one of these featured resources for your project:
Search the BGSU Libraries Catalog or the OhioLINK Central Catalog for additional resources.
Questions? Ask a librarian