Searching the Catalog
Try the subjects listed below to find materials in the BGSU Libraries Catalog. If you want to find more, after viewing what's available at BGSU, click on the "Search OhioLINK" button towards the top of the page.
State of the World 2009 - Worldwatch Institute
This annual publication from the Worldwatch Institute focuses on the world's environmental challenges. The 2009 volume includes a look at how we will adapt to climate change. The Worldwatch Institute makes available free chapter downloads (minus endnotes) of the State of the World 2009: Into a Warming World at their website. To obtain the endnotes consult the print volume (2009) which is available in Jerome Library's Reference Collection at REF HC59.S734
Reference (Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Handbooks, etc.)
Specialized encyclopedias often help to obtain a "big picture" understanding and also focus upon a search topic.
- Dictionary of Global Climate Change (1994)This dictionary attempts to cover the terminology used for most climatological and meteorological aspects of climate change.
- Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences (2003)6 Volumes. This encyclopedia contains 330 articles on the major aspects of atmospheric science and cognate subjects. 30 articles cover climate change and variability while approximately 50 articles are related to atmospheric chemistry.
- Encyclopedia of Energy (2004)6 volumes. Over 380 articles provide excellent background information and basic knowledge for many current energy topics.
- Encyclopedia of Global Change (2005)***Available ONLINE*** This encyclopedia covers changes in the earth's physical, chemical, and biological systems and resources and the impact of those changes on human society.
- Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change (2002)5 volumes. The first four volumes cover the broad issues of the science and politics of global environmental change. The last volume attempts to link global environmental change to the socioeconomic, cultural and ethical dimensions of human societies.
- Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change (2008)***Available ONLINE*** This three volume encyclopedia is for a general audience and contains over 700 articles. Individual country entries provide a perspective on global warming issues country-by-country. The introduction has several color maps.
- The Atlas of Global Change (1998)Color images of the earth derived from satellite data provide unique global perspectives.
- The Global Warming Desk Reference (2002)***Available ONLINE*** Also available in print (REF QC 981.8 .G56 J64).
