Romance Writers of America (RWA)
What is RWA?
The Romance Writers of America (RWA) is a trade organization primarily dedicated to supporting and advocating for romance writers. RWA hosts an annual, national conference, at which members speak about romance-related topics and trade issues; the RWA also gives out awards at the annual conference to recognize the achievements and leadership of its members. The organization also consists of many regional chapters that support local writing communities.
RWA at the Browne Popular Culture Library
The Romance Writer's Report (RWR) is the long-running periodical released by the RWA. The RWR consists of articles, features, and profiles concerning romance writers and/or trade-related topics concerning romance writers. The BPCL has an extensive collection of RWR issues in the Periodical collection.
The BPCL serves as the organizational repository for the RWA's archives. The Romance Writers of America Records (PCL MS 142) contains the organizational archives of the RWA, including historical information relating to the founding of the organization, Board of Directors information, correspondence, Annual Conference planning records, and multimedia materials. The collection includes many sound recordings of presentations given at RWA Annual Conferences.
Maumee Valley Romance Authors, Inc.
The Maumee Valley Romance Authors, Inc. (MVRAI) was founded as Maumee Valley Romance Writers of America, local chapter Number 126 of the Romance Writers of America (RWA).
The Maumee Valley Romance Authors, Inc. Collection (PCL MS 156) is an archival collection consisting of chapter meeting minutes and agendas, newsletters, some chapter correspondence, officer reports, and contest related materials produced by the chapter.
Romantic Times
What is Romantic Times (RT)?
Romantic Times was a magazine concerning the romance genre and market. Established by Kathryn Falk in 1981, the magazine served a valuable resource for romance readers, scholars, and writers. The title and primary coverage of the publication has changed over time: Romantic Times was replaced by Romantic Times Bookclub from 2002-2006; in 2006, the publication became RT Book Reviews.
Falk also organized the Romantic Times Booklover's Convention, an annual event hosted from 1982-2018.
Romantic Times at the Browne Popular Culture Library
- The BPCL has extensive holdings of the following periodicals:
- Romantic Times magazine, ca. 1981-2002
- Romantic Times Bookclub, 2002-2006
- RT Book Reviews, 2006-
- The Romantic Times Collection (PCL MS 232) is an archival collection consisting of print, photographic and multimedia materials related to the publication of Romantic Times magazine and its annual convention.