How to Use the BPCL
Romance novels and other media are available to view in the BPCL, but be aware of our policies for use.
- Our hours are more limited than the main floor, but we're open late on Mondays and Tuesdays.
- We're an archive/repository, so most of our materials cannot be checked out.
- Most of our collection is not open for browsing. You need to request materials at our reference desk with your university ID or a photo ID. You will also need to fill out a request form.
- The reference collection is open for browsing! It's the best place to get started with popular culture research.
- We have a copier available for copying materials that cannot be checked out - you just need a BG1 card. A scanner is also available, but at no charge.
Romance at the BPCL
Romance is the bestselling genre of popular fiction in the country, and the Browne Popular Culture Library (BPCL) is proud to have a world-class collection of romance-related materials. The collection includes more than 10,000 volumes of romance novels published by Harlequin, Silhouette, Loveswept, Candlelight, Ecstasy, and many more. This includes many popular sub-genres of romance fiction, including historical, western, holiday, and contemporary romance (and many more).
The BPCL is also a rich resource for romance in other popular media, including comics and film. It houses the manuscript collections of more than 50 romance authors and serves as the official repository for the Romance Writers of America, which documents the business of romance. The library even houses original paintings used for romance cover art and promotional materials used in the romance industry.
Need Help?
3 Ways to Contact Us
We're on the 4th floor of Jerome Library.
Email us at bpcl@libanswers.bgsu.edu.
Call us at 419-372-2450.