Librarian
How to Use this Guide
This guide is meant to help you though the many different steps and informational needs of your POLS 3310 Policy Recommendation paper assignment. Each tab will tackle one aspect of this assignment and guide you to resources most appropriate for the information need.
Please remember, if you get lost during the research process you are welcome to reach our to a librarian or make an Individual Research Appointment for one-on-one help.
-
Legislation WorksheetThis worksheet will help you get to know your chosen legislation better.
Helpful resource:
Getting Started
Below are your best bet databases for finding information about your topic. These are not the only databases available but they are a great place to start.
-
Library SearchLibrary Search is great place to start searching for print and electronic government documents.
-
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Political Science Complete is a full-text research database covering political topics with a worldwide focus, including international relations, political theory, and comparative politics. With hundreds of full-text journals and thousands of conference papers, it is a valuable resource for political science researchers and government institutions.
Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyze, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
The database formerly named LexisNexis Academic is now called Nexis Uni! Contains full-text newspapers, business information, and legal publications, including current news, company profiles, industry information, and federal and state laws and legislation.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Over a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s. JSTOR now also hosts the complete ArtSTOR collection.