Librarian
How to Use this Guide
This guide is meant to help you though the many different steps and informational needs of your POLS 3310 Policy Recommendation paper assignment. Each tab will tackle one aspect of this assignment and guide you to resources most appropriate for the information need.
Please remember, if you get lost during the research process you are welcome to reach our to a librarian or make an Individual Research Appointment for one-on-one help.
- Legislation WorksheetThis worksheet will help you get to know your chosen legislation better.
Helpful resource:
- Summon
Search the BGSU library catalog alongside the vast majority of our journal content at one time using Summon. Find and link to full text articles in scholarly journals and newspapers, ebooks, and images.
Use this link if you are experiencing access issues:
Summon Search
- BGSU Libraries CatalogSearch for books, videos, music scores, CDs, journals & newspapers, and archival and special collections available at the BGSU Libraries.
Part of your assignment is to use scholarly sources to support your policy recommendation. The below databases are your best bets for finding this supporting evidence.
- EBSCO DatabasesAccess to all of the EBSCO databases which the library subscribes to, including our most heavily-used database, Academic Search Complete. Browse a list of all EBSCO databases or use the link above to search them all at the same time. You can also connect to EBSCO then click on "Choose Databases" to link to specific EBSCO databases.
- JSTOR
Over a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s. JSTOR now also hosts the complete ArtSTOR collection.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
The database formerly named LexisNexis Academic is now called Nexis Uni! Contains full-text newspapers, business information, and legal publications, including current news, company profiles, industry information, and federal and state laws and legislation.
In some cases, the legislation you choose to make a recommendation on may be part of a larger national political conversation. Knowing this context could inform your recommendation. Vis the University Libraries, BGSU students have access to The New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.
The below guide will help you activate your account.