A Few Useful U.S. Government Documents
- "Dear friends at home--" : the letters and diary of Thomas James Owen, Fiftieth New York Volunteer Engineer Regiment, during the Civil WarCall Number: GOV DOC D 103.43/2:4Publication Date: 1985
- Campaigns in Mississippi and Tennessee, February-December 1864 byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2014
- Chancellorsville campaign : January-May 1863 byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2013Also at: GOV DOC D 114.2:C 49/2
- Civil War begins: opening clashes, 1861 byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2012Paper copy at: GOV DOC D 114.2:C 49
- Civil War in the Western Theater, 1862 byCall Number: GOV DOCS D 114.2:C 49/2/WESTER./CORRPublication Date: 2014
- Civil War naval chronology, 1861-1865Call Number: GOV DOC D 207.2:C 49/Pt.1-6Publication Date: 1961-1965
- Civil War Marine : a diary of the Red River expedition, 1864Call Number: GOV DOCS D 214.13:C 49Publication Date: 1975
- Fort Fisher, December 1864-January 1865 byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2012Paper copy at: GOV DOC D 214.13:F 77 F
- Freedom by the sword : the U.S. Colored Troops, 1862-1867 byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2011Paper copy at: GOV DOC D 114.2:SW 7
- Gettysburg campaign : June-July 1863 byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2013Paper copy at: GOV DOC D 114.2:G 33/2
- Historical report on the troop movements for the Second Battle of Manassas, August 28 through August 30, 1862 byCall Number: GOV DOC I 29.2:M 31/5Publication Date: 1985
- Medical and surgical history of the war of the rebellion. (1861-65)Call Number: GOV DOCS W44.10:Publication Date: 1870-1888
- Military leadership of the North and the South byCall Number: GOV DOC D 305.10:2Publication Date: 1960
- Military operations of the Civil War : a guide-index to the official records of the Union and Confederate Armies, 1861-1865 byCall Number: GOV DOC GS 4.21:Publication Date: 1968-1980
- Overland Campaign, 4 May - 15 June 1864 byCall Number: GOV DOCS D 114.2:C 49/2/OVERLAPublication Date: 2014
- Railroad generalship: foundations of Civil War strategy byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 1997
- Rails to oblivion: the battle of Confederate railroads in the Civil War byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2002
- Report of the Secretary of the Navy in relation to armored vesselsCall Number: GOV DOC N 1.2:AR 5/1Publication Date: 1864
- Shenandoah Valley Campaign : March-November 1864 byCall Number: GOV DOCS D 114.2:C 49/2/SHENANPublication Date: 2014
- U.S.S. Cairo; the story of a Civil War gunboat, comprising a narrative of her wartime adventures, by Virgil Carrington Jones and an account of her raising in 1964 by Harold L. PetersonCall Number: GOV DOCS I 29.2:C 49/7Publication Date: 1971
- Vicksburg campaign : November 1862--July 1863 byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2013Paper copy at: GOV DOC D 114.2:C 49/2/VICKSB
- War of the rebellion: a compilation of the official records of the Union and Confederate armiesCall Number: GOV DOCS W45.5:Publication Date: 1880-1901Also full text online
Some Useful Reference Books
- Atlas of the Civil War byCall Number: Main Lib - 1st Floor E468 .W754 2004
Atlas of the Civil War, month by month : major battles and troop movements by Call Number: Main Lib - 1st Floor E470 .S94 2004ISBN: 0820326585
Encyclopedia of Civil War medicine by Call Number: Main Lib - 1st Floor E621 .S347 2008ISBN: 9780765611710
Historical dictionary of the Civil War and Reconstruction by Call Number: REF E468 .R53 2004ISBN: 0810845849
Civil War and Abraham Lincoln
- Becker Collection: Drawings of the American Civil War EraDrawings by artist/reporters for Frank Leslie's Weekly of scenes of the Civil War, Indian wars, Chinese in the West, etc.
- Civil War Archive: File ListLetters from soldiers, diaries, regimental histories, etc.
- Civil War Collection (Hamilton College)Letters and diaries
- Clarysville Civil War Hospital Digital CollectionDocuments from a Civil War hospital in West Virginia
- Confederate Veteran, 1893-1932"Published Monthly in the Interest of Confederate Veterans and Kindred Topics"
- Cyrus F. Jenkins Civil War Diary, 1861-1862Diary of a Georgia Confederate soldier
- Diary of the Reverend Samuel TupperThe diary of a relief worker for the U.S. Christian Commission
- Edward A. Fulton collectionU.S. Civil War letters
- James I Robertson Jr. Civil War Sesquicentennial Legacy CollectionDigitized letters, diaries, and other documents scanned from private collections throughout Virginia
- Lambert Luten Letters 1861-1865Letters written by a Michigan soldier in the Civil War to his family
- Lewis H. Machen Family PapersDiary kept by a Georgia teen during the Civil War
- Lincoln ArchivesWhen this project is complete, it will have digitized all federal government documents produced when Lincoln was President
- Memorable Days: The Emilie Davis DiariesDiaries of an African American woman living in Philadelphia during the Civil War
- National Tribune, 1877-1917Monthly newspaper for Union veterans and their families
- Old Flag 1864Newspaper published by Union prisoners at Camp Ford, Tyler, Texas
- Thomas T. Eckert PapersCivil War telegrams
- Transcript of the Diary of James Albert BarberDiary of Union soldier in the Civil War
- Vermillion Family CorrespondenceLetters between Captain William F. Vermillion, an Iowa volunteer, and his wife, Mary.
- Western History -- Civil War Manuscripts - Cress, Sherry MarieIncludes the Civil War diary of Charles Kroff (11th Indiana Vol. Infantry)
- Wiley Nesmith Civil War Letters 1862-1865Letters from a Georgia Confederate soldier
- William E. Walsh Civil War Diary CollectionRhode Island Soldier
- William R. Townsend Civil War DiaryIllinois soldier