Start With These Databases
- America: History & Life (EBSCO)Index to scholarly journal articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Index to scholarly journal articles from international historical journals, covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- JSTOR
Over a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s. JSTOR now also hosts the complete ArtSTOR collection.
Summon
Summon is a new service that allows you to quickly search, discover and access reliable and credible library content in digital and print formats, audio and video, single articles and entire e-journals, and every format in between. Enter your terms in one search box, and quickly get credible results in one relevancy-ranked list.
Other Useful Databases
- Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP)Citations to significant articles, news items, and editorials published in English-language military and aeronautical periodicals since 1988.
- American Antiquarian Society PeriodicalsFull-text collections of thousands of historical American periodicals, provided by the American Antiquarian Society and published between 1691 and 1912. The collection is fully searchable via a number of filters, and offers multiple navigation options.
- American Periodicals Series Online
The full text of hundreds of American magazines, journals, and newspapers published between 1741 and 1900.
- CSPAN Video Library, 1987 - presentStreaming video for every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, with indexing so each can be searched by subject, speaker name, location, and more.
- Harpweek
The electronic version of of the popular magazine Harper's Weekly from the Civil War and Reconstruction eras, 1857-1871.
- Humanities International Complete
Index to scholarly articles covering topics such as history, music, literature, philosophy and religion.
- MEDLINE with Full Text
Index to scholarly journal articles on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson)
Index to articles published in the popular press between 1890 and 1982 from hundreds of magazines like Collier's, Harper's, The New Republic, Popular Science, and The Saturday Evening Post.
- Web of Science
Index to articles in scholarly journals and conference proceedings from all fields of study, plus the ability to search these articles' bibliographies by cited author or work. Links to full text are included where possible.