Some Useful Reference Books
American Voices of World War I: Primary Source DocumentsCall Number: Main Lib - 1st Floor D570.9 .A432 2001ISBN: 1579583091- Routledge atlas of the First World War byCall Number: REF G1037 .G5 2008
United States in the First World War : an encyclopediaCall Number: REF D510 .U65 1999ISBN: 0815333536- World War I: a student encyclopediaCall Number: Online
A Few U.S. Government Documents
- The 1st Division in the Meuse-Argonne, 1-12 October 1918 byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 1957
- 4th division, summary of operations in the World WarCall Number: GOV DOCS Y 3.Am 3:W 89/4th DivNote: These summaries are available for many division.
- America's munitions 1917-1918 : report of Benedict Crowell, the Assistant Secretary of War, Director of MunitionsCall Number: GOV DOCS W 1.2:M 92Publication Date: 1919
- Answering the call : the U.S. Army Nurse Corps, 1917-1919 : a commemorative tribute to military nursing in World War ICall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2008Also at GOV DOCS D 114.2:N 93/4
- Armageddon's lost lessons : combined arms operations in Allenby's Palestine campaign byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2005
- Army Medical Department, 1865-1917 byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 1995Also at GOV DOCS D114.19:M46/865-917
- Chemical warfare in World War I : the American experience, 1917-1918 byCall Number: GOV DOCS D110.9:10
- Defeating the U-boat [electronic resource] : inventing antisubmarine warfare byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2010
- Development of military night aviation to 1919 byCall Number: GOV DOCS D 301.26/6:AV 5Publication Date: 1998
- Dynamics of doctrine : the changes in German tactical doctrine during the First World War byCall Number: Online & GOV DOCS D 110.9:4Publication Date: 1981
- Final report of Gen. John J. Pershing : Commander-in-Chief American Expeditionary ForcesCall Number: GOV DOCS W 1.2:P 58f
- Joining the Great War, April 1917-April 1918 byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2017Also at GOV DOCS D 114.7/6:J 66
- Letters of Second Lieutenant Charles Wesley Chapman, Jr., December 19, 1894-May 3, 1918Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2016Also at GOV DOCS D 301.26/6:C 36
- Like a thunderbolt : the Lafayette Escadrille and the advent of American pursuit in World War I byCall Number: GOV DOCS D 301.82/7:L 13
- Marine flyer in France : the diary of Captain Alfred A. Cunningham, November 1917-January 1918Call Number: GOV DOCS D 214.13:F 67
- Queenstown patrol, 1917 : the diary of commander Joseph Knefler Taussig, U.S. NavyCall Number: GOV DOCS D208.210:12
- Shooting the front : allied aerial reconnaissance and photographic interpretation on the Western Front--World War I byCall Number: GOV DOCS D 5.202:R 24Publication Date: 2006
- United States Army in the World War, 1917-1919Call Number: GOV DOCS M 103.9: v.1-17
- United States Army in the World War, 1917-1919Call Number: GOV DOCS D114.8: v.1-17
- United States Marine Corps in the First World War : anthology, selected bibliography, and annotated order of battle byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2016
- The United States Marine Corps in the World War byCall Number: GOV DOCS D 214.13:W 89/5/2014Publication Date: 2014
- The United States naval railway batteries in FranceCall Number: GOV DOCS D207.10/2:B32/3Publication Date: 1988
- Women Marines in World War I byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 1974Also at GOV DOCS D 214.13:W 84
World War I
This box includes links to resources about World War I from all over the world.
- California University of Pennsylvania WWI CollectionLetters from a Western Pennsylvania soldier, plus other documents about his service.
- Camp Dix News 1917Newspaper from Fort Dix
- Dear Homefolks (Letters from Australian soldiers)Letters from Australian soldiers in WWI
- Hatchet: Published on the High Seas 1918-1919A newspaper published on the USS George Washington while sailing to Europe.
- OAMC World War I VeteransSurveys of WWI veterans - includes photos, news clippings, etc.
- Trench and Camp Newspaper - Camp Upton 1917-1919The Camp Upton (Long Island, NY) version of a newspaper published for soldiers by the National War Work Council of the YMCA
- World War History: Newspaper Clippings 1914 to 1926Daily records and comments as appeared in American and international newspapers
- World War I History Commission Questionnaires Database (Virginia)Searchable database of questionnaires filled out by WWI veterans.