Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

Embedding Library Content into Canvas: Content to Embed in Canvas

Selected Database Links

The following links to library resources have been proxied so off campus users can do library research from anywhere after logging in. We have many more databases than those listed below, please contact us for links to other resources.

 

Do your students struggle with citations?

Embed LibAnswers from the Learning Commons!

Filled with information on citing and other writing tips, LibAnswers allows students to find answers and ask questions to improve their writing.Use the code below to embed the Learning Commons FAQ site LibAnswers to your course.

This section of code is best in the <head> section of the page or at the bottom of the page, but it can be put anywhere.
<script src="//api2.libanswers.com/1.0/widgets/3108"></script>

This section of code should go where you want the widget to appear in the page.
<div id="s-la-widget-3108"></div>

Library & Learning Commons Services: Short URLS for Syllabi

Ask Us!: www.bgsu.edu/library/ask-us.html

Book an Appointment with a Librarian: ira.youcanbook.me

Chat with a Librarian: http://bit.ly/BGSUchat

Learning Commons: www.bgsu.edu/learning-commons.html

Tutor Schedule: http://bit.ly/BGSUtutor

Math & Stats Tutoring: http://bit.ly/BGSUms

Learning Commons Writing: http://bit.ly/BGSUwrites

RefWorks: http://bit.ly/BGSUrw

Student Technology Assistance Center: www.bgsu.edu/library/stac.html

The Curriculum Resource Center: www.bgsu.edu/library/crc.html

The Music Library and Sound Recordings Archives: www.bgsu.edu/library/music.html

The Browne Popular Culture Library: www.bgsu.edu/library/pcl.html

The Center for Archival Collections: www.bgsu.edu/library/cac.html

 

Tutorials & Handouts

ProQuest Research Companion: http://bit.ly/BGSUresearch

GuideWIRE: bit.ly/BGSUguide

 BGSU LibGuides: http://libguides.bgsu.edu/tutorials

New Resource: Kanopy

Creating Links to Articles

When you assign your students articles to read for a class, how do you make those articles available to them? Do you give them citations and tell them to find the articles on their own? Do you retrieve the articles yourself and upload copies to Canvas?

Be aware that downloading copies of articles from BGSU library databases and then uploading them to Canvas for your students may violate copyright law.

A better idea is to provide students with persistent links (also called permalinks) to the articles you want them to read on Canvas. Students will be able to access the articles both on and off campus, and you don't have to go through the reserves process. Permalinks also allow us to know what resources are being used in courses--this goes a long way in helping us decide what databases and resources to maintain.

Syllabi Statements

The BGSU University Libraries
University Libraries reside within the eight floors of the Jerome Library, providing a wide variety of resources, services and space for BGSU students. The libraries’ vast resources include many virtual and physical collections. Virtually, the library offers access to a great selection of research databases, electronic books, and digital collections. Within the Jerome Library building you will find an extensive collection of print books and other materials.  Notable study spaces in Jerome include the recently remodeled 7th floor for group study and a large quiet study space on the 8th floor. Reservable group study spaces are also available. Librarians are available to assist students with research assignments at the first floor Research and Information Desk, via chat, or by appointment. The library is home to four renowned special collections: the Curriculum Resource Center, the Music Library and Sound Recordings Archives, the Browne Popular Culture, and the Center for Archival Collections. The CollabLab in the library provides innovative collaborative space and programming, software support, 3D printers, and more. The first floor Learning Commons offers study skills enhancement, math and statistics tutoring, writing consultations and free tutoring services in virtually any subject. Visit the library's website for more information www.bgsu.edu/library.

The Learning Commons
The Learning Commons at Bowling Green State University offers academic support programs for all university students and provides the opportunity for students to enhance their academic experience at the university by taking control of their academic pursuits.  The Learning Commons, located on the first floor of the Jerome Library, is designed to augment the classroom learning experience and assist students in achieving their academic goals.  The services include study skills enhancement, math and statistics tutoring, writing consultations and free tutorial services in virtually any subject taught at Bowling Green State University.  Students can obtain services through our webpage bgsu.edu/learning-commons, e-mailing our office at tlc@bgsu.edu, calling our main number at 419-372-2823 and/or in person at our front desk.

The Student Technology Assistance Center
The Student Technology Assistance Center is located on the first floor of the library across from the elevators.  They offer a Laptop Loan program for students with a qualifying FAFSA or registered disability through Disability Services, offer tutoring on various software programs, and have unique equipment like a green screen for video editing, 3D printers, high-end scanners and more. For more information, including hours and contact information visit http://www.bgsu.edu/stac/

The Curriculum Resource Center
The Curriculum Resource Center (CRC) is located on the second floor of the library. The CRC supports the College of Education and Human Development, and other BGSU education-related areas. The collections include books (such as an extensive juvenile literature collection, textbooks, and lesson planning resources) and 2- and 3-dimensional instruction resources (such as puppets, games, and reproductions of historical photographs and documents). Services include access to die cut machines (useful for preparing bulletin boards, instruction materials, and crafts), access to a laminator, and reference service. Materials are on open shelving and most may be borrowed by the university community and community borrowers. 

Music Library and Sound Recordings Archives
Located on the 3rd Floor of Jerome Library, the Music Library and Sound Recordings Archives houses a wide variety of materials in many formats, including books, scores, recordings (CDs, vinyl records, and more), videos (DVDs and VHS), and ephemera related to the music industry and popular music. With around a million recordings, the Sound Recordings Archives represents the largest collection of popular music recordings in an academic library, all of which are available for research and study. Popular materials are generally for in-house use only, but it is possible to request copies of individual tracks for class presentations. Materials related to classical music (art music, world music, and jazz) generally circulate to BGSU students and faculty.