Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Commons is a learning object repository that enables educators to find, import, and share resources. A digital library full of educational content, Commons allows Canvas users to share learning resources with other users as well as import learning resources into a Canvas course.
Meet Canvas Commons! Upcoming Commons Workshops at the Jerome Library
Do you have a Canvas role of Teacher, Teaching Assistant or Course Designer? Join us for an informational session about Canvas Commons, a new tool that will enable faculty to share learning resources with other users at BGSU and to import learning resources shared to Canvas Commons from hundreds of other institutions.
Contact Vera Lux (firstname.lastname@example.org; 419-372-7897)
Accessing Canvas Commons
Access Canvas Commons on the global navigation menu inside Canvas. You will be prompted to grant Commons access to your account--go ahead and authorize access.
Download the Ready to Go Images
Departments and organizations affiliated with BGSU may use these logos for their Canvas Commons materials. Logos may be modified to include/replace department/organization logos.
Introducing Canvas Commons
Library Modules in Canvas Commons
The following modules can all be located within Canvas Commons. Simply head to the Commons through MyBGSU (instructions to the left) and then search "BGSU" to return content created by BGSU faculty and academic support offices.
Research in Roman Art
Successfully research an object from Ancient Rome with these expert tips, including information on how to use bibliographies, article databases, and interlibrary loan.
Scholarly Articles and How to Find Them
This module contains multiple readings, handouts, and videos on finding scholarly articles using library resources at BGSU. It also contains an optional assignment where students find scholarly articles in Summon, EBSCO, and Google Scholar and reflect on their experiences searching the different platforms. You can modify any component of this module to suit your needs.
Reading and Using Scholarly Articles (Social Sciences)
This module contains readings, handouts, and videos on reading and using scholarly articles. It also includes the basics of APA in-text and reference list citations. The optional assignment covers finding a scholarly article, paraphrasing and quoting from the article as well as creating in-text and reference list citations. To further practice citation skills and to demonstrate the value of mining bibliographies, the assignment also directs students to locate and cite a second article included in the reference list of the first article. There is a rubric included for grading. You can modify any component of this module to suit your needs.
This module contains a series of videos from ProQuest Research Companion on finding information and choosing a topic. It also includes an optional quiz. The videos included are copyright of ProQuest and cannot be modified or shared beyond the BGSU community.
A module to help public services library employees troubleshoot problems with electronic resources, including EZProxy. This module may be adapted by other institutions with access to Canvas Commons to assist in training.