LibGuides: Social Work: Evidence-Based Practice Resources

Find EBP reports, guidelines, and programs

The sources in this box provide reports and information about the most effective programs, interventions and therapeutic methods.

CEBC: California Evidence-Based Clearinghouse for Child Welfare
A free database of evidence-based programs that serve children who are part of the child welfare system.
SAMHSA Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center
A free database of evidence-based practices for substance abuse and/or mental health.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
A free database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

Find systematic reviews & meta-analyses

Systematic reviews and meta-analyses can be found in the freely available databases listed below.

Campbell Collaboration Library of Systematic Reviews
"The Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions in Crime & Justice, Education, International Development, and Social Welfare." These reviews are freely available on the Internet.
Cochrane Library
A very important source of systematic reviews in health care.
Community Guide: What Works to Promote Health
This is a free resource that uses systematic reviews to evaluate programs and policies designed to improve health and prevent disease in a community.
HealthEvidence.org
This free database includes more than 4,000 systematic reviews of public health interventions. In order to search and access these reviews you must first register, but registration is free.
PsycINFO 1872 - present
To find meta analyses or systematic reviews, use the Advanced Search. Type your search terms in the search boxes. Then, scroll down to the Methodology box and choose either Systematic Review or Meta Analysis
PubMed Clinical Queries
Enter your search terms in the search box. The search results will be divided into three columns. The central column will contain systematic reviews, meta analyses, evidence based practice, etc.
SAMHSA Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center
Information about evidence-based practices and links to EVP Web sites from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.
Trip
This free database is designed to search for articles that provide clinical evidence, including meta analyses and systematic reviews.

Find articles: BGSU Libraries databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Use the Advanced Search page. Type your search terms in the search box(es). Then, either click in the the box next to Evidence-Based Practice or scroll down to the Special Interest box and choose Evidence-Based Practice.
Social Work Abstracts
To limit your search to evidence-based practice resources, type your search term in one of the search boxes. Then, type "evidence-based practice" in another search box and change the Select-a-Field to "SU Subjects".
Certain journals may carry additional restrictions; please check copyright statements that appear with full text.