Helpful Links
These websites can help you use RefWorks or get additional training.
- RefWorks Quick Start GuideDesigned to give you a 15-minute introduction to using RefWorks. PDF format.
- RefWorks TutorialsShort video introductions on different aspects of RefWorks.
- Importing Instructions by DatabaseBGSU-specific instructions on importing citations from our many online databases.
- Ask Us!If you have questions about using RefWorks, contact the Research & Information Desk.
Welcome to RefWorks!
|
|
|
|
The BGSU Libraries subscribe to an online citation management system called RefWorks. Use it to save the citations for books, articles, websites, and more to a personal account and easily create notes and bibliographies for your research papers. RefWorks allows you to: |
|
| Import... | |
|
. . .citations from databases like EBSCO, JSTOR, and Lexis Nexis. |
|
| Save... | |
|
. . .them into folders by subject, project or class. |
|
| Format... | |
|
. . .them into bibliographies in MLA, APA, Chicago Style, and more. |
|
|
You can also import citations from EndNote or enter them manually. RefWorks saves links to your research materials online so you can access them from anywhere. This guide offers answers to FAQs on:
|
|
General FAQs
Is there a limit to how many citations I can save?
No.
Is there a limit to the data I can save as notes, abstracts and attachments?
1 gigabyte is the initial limit, but contact Amy Fry if you need more space.
Can I open two accounts in RefWorks at the same time?
Yes.
Can a RefWorks account be shared by a group?
Yes.
An individual may create more than one account using the same email
address, but with different usernames and passwords for each account.
This can be useful when working on group projects. The username and
password can be shared with other members of the group for one of the
accounts. Each member can then log in to that RefWorks account to add,
organize, or delete information. During the process, each group member
can utilize the bibliographic resources from the group folder and then
use RefWorks to format the bibliography according to the preferred
style.
How do I back up my citations?
Select
the Backup/Restore link under the References menu. Select Include
References and/or RSS Feeds (under backup). Click on Perform Backup. Save the file when prompted. It
should be saved as a .zip file. Please do not change the extension of
the file as this file, as is, is necessary to perform a restore if you need to do so later.
Although RefWorks backs up all databases on a regular basis, we
recommend users do this as well. You may also export your references to
a text file as a backup measure by choosing Export under the
References menu.
Will I be able to use RefWorks after leaving BGSU?
Yes. The Library's RefWorks subscription includes lifelong access for BGSU alumni at no extra charge. As long as the Library subscribes to RefWorks, alumni will be able to log in using the BGSU Group Code. Click here for more information about the RefWorks Alumni Program.


Loading...
