Browser Hard Refresh
In most browsers on PC and Mac, you can perform a simple action to force a hard refresh. Hold down the Shift key on your keyboard and click on the reload icon on your browser’s toolbar.
Keyboard Commands
- Chrome, Firefox, or Edge for Windows: Press Ctrl+F5 (If that doesn't work, try Shift+F5 or Ctrl+Shift+R).
- Chrome or Firefox for Mac: Press Shift+Command+R.
- Safari for Mac: There is no simple keyboard shortcut to force a hard refresh.
Check the System Status directly with the database hosts:
- Ex Libris System StatusCheck for system outage messages about Summon, RefWorks, or 360 Link (Find It!). Use the dropdown to choose one of the products above and region "North America."
- EBSCO System StatusCheck for system outage messages about EbscoHost products
Two Factor Authentication
BGSU uses Two Factor Authentication to access some BGSU provided software and library databases. This means when accessing a library resource, you may be prompted to input your BGSU username and password, and then complete the DUO authentication process. Whenever DUP authentication is necessary to access a library resource, you will be prompted with a screen that looks similar to this:
If you are using a personal device, you can select the "Remember me for 30 days" option to avoid extra authentication for a month.
For more information about setting up DUO Authentication, visit the ITS Instructions for Setting Up Duo App.
If you are experiencing issues with your BGSU account, please contact ITS on the ITS Website or by phone: 419.372.0999
Make sure you are using a Proxied Link
If you are off campus, you need to be using a proxied link. If you saved a link when you were on campus and then tried to access it from off campus, the link you saved might be unproxied. You can tell by looking at the url in the browser bar.
A link that does not have ezproxy in it is not a proxied link and will not work from off campus.
If a link isn't proxied, it is easy to proxy the link yourself. Just add http://ezproxy.bgsu.edu/login?url= at the beginning and leave the rest of the url the same.
Unproxied: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=fcs&AN=26471839&site=ehost-live&scope=site
Why might a link be unproxied? If you are using Google or are otherwise not starting from the library's home page, links to resources will not be proxied. If you emailed yourself a link to an article from on campus, the link in the email may not be proxied. Just proxy it yourself as described above for full text access!
To proxy a link, any link, add this to the beginning of the link:
http://ezproxy.bgsu.edu/login?url=
A proxied link to a JSTOR article would look like this:
http://ezproxy.bgsu.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/40651623
For a link to work from off campus, it has to be proxied. Proxied links contain "ezproxy" and will prompt you to log in.
To proxy any link, add this to the beginning of a url:
http://ezproxy.bgsu.edu/login?url=
Unproxied link to JSTOR:
http://www.jstor.org/stable/40651623
(will not work from off campus)
Proxied link to JSTOR:
http://ezproxy.bgsu.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/40651623
(will work off campus)
To find the Alternate Access Link for other databases, go to the All Databases list (on our homepage under the search box).
Find the database you want in the list and click the "more" link underneath the description to show the Alternate Access Link.
Sometimes, a link on our website may take you to the description of a database.
If you are able to log in using an alternate access link but are unable to log in to EZProxy, a firewall in your network may be blocking EZProxy. This most frequently happens in:
- K-12 schools
- government buildings and offices
- hospitals
If you cannot log in to EZProxy, try to find and use the alternate access link. Here are alternate access links for Summon & EBSCO:
- Summon alternative access link http://0-bgsu.summon.serialssolutions.com.maurice.bgsu.edu/#!/
- EBSCO alternative access link http://0-search.ebscohost.com.maurice.bgsu.edu/login.aspx?profile=ehost
User Limits
Some databases require you to set up a special account to use the database or certain features. Others are limited to just a few or only one user at a time. Some of these resources include: JSTOR, Intelliconnect (CCH), SciFinder, and Naxos, among others. Use the All Databases list to check for special access notes about the resource you are trying to use.
Likewise, some of our eBooks are limited to just a few or only one user at a time. You will find notes about this in the catalog, next to the url for each book.
Contact us!
We are here to help. If you are having problems accessing library resources, you may always contact the Information Desk.