Do you need help accessing full text article?
Use our Journal Finder Title List or our Article Look Up for Citations to see if it is available from another source.
For example, if you want the article: What Can We Learn About Native American Culture Using Art and Conversations?" by Maria de la Luz Leade in Art Education Volume 74, Issue 1, pages 46-52, 2021
1) You can search for a specific journal in the Journal Title List to see which databases have full text.
2) Use our Article Look Up for Citations page and fill in the information about the article:
Note: The Journal Title List will also tell you if we have the journal in print or microfilm.
Are you having trouble accessing a library resource off campus?
Try our Journal Pass Bookmarklet!
To install JournalPass, drag the icon above to your browser bookmark bar.
Use case #1: You are at home, reading an email from a colleague at another institution. She has included a link to an article on a publisher's website. You click on the link, and find that it is a restricted subscription item. Simply click on the JournalPass bookmarklet which will prompt you to authenticate with your BGSU login credentials and then redirect you to the article.
Use case #2: You are at home, searching in Google Scholar, Google, or some other search engine and find an article or subscription resource of interest to you. Click on the JournalPass bookmarklet which will prompt you to authenticate with your BGSU login credentials and then redirect you to the subscription resource.
Use case #3: You encounter a link to a newspaper or magazine and it is behind a paywall. You have read all of your allotted articles, or the newspaper requires a subscription. Click on the JournalPass bookmarklet to find out if BGSU has access to that resource.
Note: BGSU Libraries must have a subscription to the journal or database in question. The JournalPass bookmarklet is an easy way to check if BGSU has access, but it isn't comprehensive. You can also check for the journal/newspaper/magazine title in the Journal Finder or request a specific article via interlibrary loan if the bookmarklet does not provide seamless access.
What is JournalPass?
JournalPass is our off-campus/wireless bookmarklet for your browser that allows you to connect to journals and databases without having to start at the library web site.
If you are off-campus and a journal asks you for a login to access full text, just click on the JournalPass bookmarklet that you’ve previously installed. JournalPass will redirect you so you can log in with your BGSU username and password, then pass you through to the full text of the article or resource.
Questions or feedback? Use Ask Us! for help.
Installing on a Mac or PC:
Firefox: Grab the JournalPass icon and drag it to the bookmark bar
Chrome: Grab the JournalPass icon and drag it to the bookmark toolbar (it must be visible, use ctrl-shift-b to enable it)
Internet Explorer: right-click the JournalPass icon and "add to favorites"
Safari: Grab the JournalPass icon and drag it to the bookmark bar
Edge: copy the following Javascript code below, save this LibGuide to favorites (click on gold star, then "save in"), then replace the url with the Javascript
Javascript: javascript:(function(){location.href='https://ezproxy.bgsu.edu/login?url='+location.href})()
Installing on a iPad or iPhone:
1. Make sure that you have turned on "Always Show Bookmarks Bar" in Settings>>Safari on your device.
2. Use the copy function on your device to copy the entire text in the box below:
3. Bookmark this page using the Add Bookmark button on Safari.
4. Edit the bookmark using the "Bookmarks Bar" option in the Bookmarks menu. In edit mode, delete the URL under the name and paste the javascript code that you copied above.
When you are done, JournalPass should show in the Safari Bookmarks bar under the toolbar.
Troubleshooting:
- Are you on-campus? If so, the URL won't work. It only works under conditions when you normally would have to log in as an off-campus user. On campus, for almost all resources, you should just be able to click on the artice or journal link and be seamlessly connected.
- If we don't actually have a subscription to the article/journal/database in question, it also won't work!
- If those two scenarios aren't the problem, please contact John Kloor or use Ask Us! for help.
JournalPass was created by Dave Widmer, University Libraries.