Print biographical resources - general
-
Art Now, vols. 1-4
Call Number: N6490.4 .A37ISBN: 382281444XPublished between 2002 and 2013, these four volumes each contain profiles of dozens of different contemporary artists from around the world -
Contemporary Artists
by
Call Number: ref N6490 .C6567 2002ISBN: 1558624899Publication Date: 2002-01-01'Contemporary Artists' features comprehensive profiles of nearly 850 of the most significant artists woring in the contemporary era, with the vast majority of artists featured having produced their most significant work in the years after 1960. -
Cream 3: Contemporary art in culture (10 curators, 100 contemporary artists, 10 source artists)
Call Number: N6490 .C742 2003ISBN: 0714843113The Cream books feature works by 100 contemporary artists. The library also owns Fresh Cream (2000) and Ice Cream (2007). -
-
The Painter speaks : artists discuss their experiences and careers
by
Call Number: ND205 .P35 1993ISBN: 0313289158Jerome Library, Main floor. Interviews with Chuck Close , Jim Dine, Sam Gilliam, Sally Haley, Al Held, Carl Morris, Joan Nelson, Barbara Noah, Elias Rivera, Dan Smajo-Ramirez, Emmi Whitehorse, Lisa Young.
Print biographical resources - the Americas and international artists
-
101
by
Call Number: N7304 .J53 2005ISBN: 8175084235Publication Date: 2006-07-20Crisp, lively, and clearly written, this one-of-a- kind book concisely introduces 101 artists, painters, sculptors, photographers, and new media artists in India today. Illustrated with over 200 images assembled from public and private collections. A first of its kind guide to buying and collecting moderm and contemporary -
Artists from Latin American Cultures
by
Call Number: N6502.5 .C657 2002ISBN: 0313315442Publication Date: 2002-10-30Latin Americans have long been relegated to the cultural background, obscured by the dominant European culture. This biographical dictionary profiles 75 artists from the United States and 13 nations of Central and South America and the Caribbean, including painters, sculptors, photographers, muralists, printmakers, installation artists, and performance artists. Some of their works recall pre-Columbian times; others confront the cultural imperialism of the U.S. over Latin America; and many explore how the dominant elements of culture can affect identities of class, gender, and sexuality. Profiled artists range from the renowned to the little-known: Frida Kahlo; Tina Modotti; Diego Rivera; Myrna Baez; Raquel Forner; Patrocino Barela; and many more. Color photographs are provided for many of the works. Each entry includes information about the artist's childhood, schooling, creative growth, and artistic styles and themes. Exemplary artworks and influences are described, along with a look at popular and critical responses. Supplemental features include artist cross references, a glossary of essential terms from the art world, and a number of vivid photos portraying the artists in their creative environments. -
Encyclopedia of Asian American Artists
by
Call Number: N6538.A83 H35 2007ISBN: 9780313334511Publication Date: 2007-05-30Painters, photographers, sculptors, and installation artists are among the seventy-five artists represented in this guide to Asian American artists. Within each entry, Kara Hallmark describes the artists' early life, education and training, and impact on the art world both in their country of heritage as well as the U.S. While some artists dismiss any notion of their heritage influencing their work, others describe how assimilation and immigration affected themselves and their families, particularly those affected by World War II and the Japanese internment camps. Interviews with living artists, as well as extensive images, enhance entries that celebrate the contributions of Asian American Artists to American art. Asian artists from China, Cambodia, Hawaii, Japan, Korea, the Phillipines, Taiwan and Thailand are represented in this volume: -Leo Amino -Thai Bui -Keo Bun -Kip Fulbeck -Jin Soo Kim -Maya Lin -Frank Okada -Rirkirt Tiravanija -
Latin American and Caribbean Artists of the Modern Era
by
Call Number: REF N6502.4 .S45 2003ISBN: 0786410574Publication Date: 2003-01-22This is a comprehensive reference book to more than 12,700 painters, sculptors, graphic artists and architects in Latin America (Mexico, Central America, South America) and the Caribbean region active during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Entries include the artists' years, countries and bibliographies. Also included are brief biographical information, stylistic notes, a record of each artist's exhibitions and a list of collections where his or her works can be seen. There are 89 photographs of selected works that supplement the entries. The introduction includes brief informative background essays on the individual countries and their artists. -
Modern Chinese Artists
by
Call Number: N7348 .S85 2006ISBN: 0520244494Publication Date: 2006-04-03The first biographical dictionary of its kind in any Western language, this pioneering work provides short, information-packed entries for approximately 1,800 Chinese artists of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. In recent years interest in modern Chinese art has spread across the globe. Public and private collections are being formed; courses in modern Chinese art are offered in many universities and museums. At the same time, the number of practicing artists in China and the amount of published material have greatly increased. Michael Sullivan's pathbreaking book Art and Artists of Twentieth-Century China, published in 1996, included a biographical index of some eight hundred artists. This volume includes more than twice that number, with entries that have been revised, expanded, and brought up to date. Illustrated with portraits and photographs of more than seventy leading artists, this comprehensive, convenient reference will be an essential tool for anyone interested in the study or collection of modern Chinese art. -
St. James Guide to Black Artists
by
Call Number: REF N40 .S78 1997ISBN: 1558622209Publication Date: 1997-06-01Profiles 400 prominent 20th-century artists. African American artists make up 75 per cent of the entries, while artists from the Caribbean, Africa and around the world complete this volume. A limited number of influential masters from the 19th century are represented. The guide covers artists working in visual arts, including painting, sculpture, printmaking and photography. Each descriptive entry provides: a concise biography; lists of both individual and group exhibitions; a listing of public galleries and museums that have the work of the entrant in their permanent collection; a bibliography of books and articles by and about the entrant; and a critical evaluation. A photograph of the artist and/or his or her work often accompanies the entry. Comments from the artists themselves regarding their work or the art precede the contributor's essay. -
Who's Who in ArtCall Number: N40.W6Publication Date: 1982 (v. 20)Who's Who in Art covers British artists. It can be a very good place to find information on more obscure artists.
-
Print biographical resources - specific media
-
Contemporary photographers
Call Number: ref TR139.C663 1988ISBN: 0912289791Reference collection, Jerome Library, main floor -
Dictionary of American sculptors : "18th century to the present," illustrated with over 200 photographs
Call Number: ref NB236.O64 1984ISBN: 0938290037Reference collection, Jerome Library, main floor -
The Thames and Hudson Encyclopedia of 20th Century Design and Designers
by
Call Number: 0500202699ISBN: 0500202699Publication Date: 1993-10-01This comprehensive guide embraces all modern design's numerous manifestations: graphics, products, interiors, furniture, industrial and architectural design. In over 500 entries, this book examines not only the work of important designers worldwide, but also the many dramatic changes that have influenced design and its uses in the 20th-century. Thus political and ideological concepts, such as feminism and green design, are defined and explained as are new technological advances, new materials and techniques and influential movements in modern culture. The text incorporates extensive cross-referencing and full bibliographic notes, along with a chronological chart of design highlights since 1900. -
The Thames and Hudson Encyclopaedia of Graphic Design and Designers
by
Call Number: NC997 .L54 1992ISBN: 0500202591Publication Date: 1992-10-01 -
Contemporary Designers
by
Call Number: REF NK1390 .C655 1997ISBN: 1558621849Publication Date: 1996-11-01This volume offers an insight into the lives and works of the most influential designers of this era in one complete guide. Photographs accompany coverage of designers from different areas of the profession, such as those working in industry, architecture, furnishing, graphics, theatre, fashion and many more. Some of the influential designers included are Kenji Ejuan, frogdesign, Sori Yanagi and Herman Zapf. Entries include: detailed biography; listing of important design works; bibliography; essay by a specialist; and personal comments by the designer. -
Museum of American Folk Art Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century American Folk Art and Artists
by
Call Number: NK808 .R6 1990ISBN: 1558590412Publication Date: 1991-02-01
Print biographical resources - women artists
-
Women artists in the 20th and 21st century
by
Call Number: N8354 .W66 2003ISBN: 3822824372Jerome Library, main floor -
Contemporary women artists
Call Number: ref N8354 .C66 1999ISBN: 1558623728Reference collection, Jerome Library, main floor -
North American Women Artists of the Twentieth Century
by
Call Number: REF N6503 .N67 1995ISBN: 0824060490Publication Date: 1995-03-01A reference source for biographical information on women artists from Canada, Mexico, and the USA. The 1,500 entries cover those artists that were born before 1960, and who have worked in a wide range of arts from painting and sculpture to performance art.
Find books
Find books about individual artists by searching these three catalogs:
-
WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat contains catalog records, locations, and library borrowing information for books, journals, videos, sound recordings, archival materials and more owned by millions of libraries all over the world.
Find articles
Look for both exhibition reviews and longer scholarly articles in these databases:
-
Art Full Text & Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Indexing for hundreds of international art publications, including peer-reviewed journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, with full text provided for many.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Over a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s. JSTOR now also hosts the complete ArtSTOR collection.
-
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
The entire contents of the New York Times from 1851 to three years ago.
-
Other newspapers onlineTry Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis), ProQuest Newsstand or Access NewspaperARCHIVE to search in newspapers from around the world.
More databases
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary, full-text database that includes scholarly journal articles on all subjects, as well as magazines, books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
-
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design and historic preservation.
-
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) This link opens in a new windowIndex to scholarly articles published between 1975 and 2007 on the history of Western art from antiquity to the present.
Online sources for biographical information
-
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online includes the peer-reviewed, regularly updated Grove Art Online, The Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, providing access to thousands of articles spanning ancient to contemporary art and architecture, as well as images of works of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures.
Access limited to 3 users at a time.
-
AskART.comA good place to find information about lesser-known artists, view reproductions of work. Entries include bibliographies. Students can purchase full access for 24 hours for $13.50, but much of the site is available for free.
-
Archives of American ArtFrom the Smithsonian, includes digitized images, letters, and more as well as descriptions of primary source materials in the Archives, many of which have been microfilmed and can be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan.
-
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, plus thousands of images.
-
Modern & Contemporary Art & Artists (TheArtists.org)Modern and contemporary art and artists; search by movement, school, style, medium, or art prize.
-
Designinform Research Guide: Internet Sources of Biographical Information on Artists, Designers, Architects and CraftspeopleLinks to free biographical information websites, arranged by genre of art and artist's country of origin.
-
The Complete Marquis Who's Who Biographies This link opens in a new window
Full-text biographies from 20 Marquis Who's Who publications, including Who's Who in America, Who Was Who in America, and Who's Who in the World.
Web Resources
-
ArtnetGallery and auction information; also includes listings and links to contemporary artists and their work.
-
Cornell Kroch Library Asia CollectionsFrom the Cornell University Libraries. The collection resides physically at Cornell, but these are online biographies of Chinese Avant-Garde artists.
-
PBS: Art in the 21st CenturyWebsite for documentary series from PBS on 21st Century art. Biographies, videos, slideshows, A-Z artist index.
-
Video History Project: Experimental Television Center"The Video History Archive contains information, writings, and images by and about people and organizations involved with the production, exhibition, distribution and support of video art, community television, and other forms of independent production."