Books about artists' techniques
These links execute subject and keyword searches in the library's catalog for both print and electronic books. To do the same search in the OhioLINK catalog, hit the green "Search OhioLINK" button at the upper right:
An Artist's Handbook: Materials & Techniques
Finding health & safety information in the library
Mix subject terms from Column A with subject terms from Column B to find appropriate materials in the Library and OhioLINK catalogs, or in research databases like Art Full Text and Academic Search Complete.
| Column A | Column B | Column C |
|
Artists |
Materials Practical Studios Supplies Trade |
Health and hygiene Health aspects Hygenic aspects Safety measures Toxicology |
Health & safety information online
-
OSHA Safety and Health Topics pageGeneral information topics, including Solvents, Woodworking, Respiration, etc.
-
Arts, Crafts & Theater SafetyACTS is a not-for-profit corporation that provides health, safety, industrial hygiene, technical services, and safety publications to the arts, crafts, museums, and theater communities.
-
Princeton Art Safety Training GuidesPrinceton University online guides for safety in different arts. Guides include ones for Ceramics, Painting & Drawing, Photography, Printmaking, and Sculpture. Be aware that training materials found on these pages are provided for the use of Princeton University to meet needs specific to Princeton University and have information specific to Princeton (procedures, phone numbers, etc.).
Artists' techniques online
-
The Bonefolder: An E-journal for the Bookbinder and Book ArtistPublishes articles for book arts, including techniques.
-
CeramicsWebCreated by Richard Burkett at San Diego State University. Includes glaze recipes, etc.
-
A Guide to Honing and Sharpening Woodworking ToolsFrom the Museum of Woodworking tools, a guide written by Maurice Fraser.
-
O'Reilly Books Online This link opens in a new window
The O'Reilly digital platform includes thousands of books, videos, proven learning paths, case studies, and audio books. Users have access to exclusive O’Reilly content as well as resources from hundreds of the world’s best known publishers. Topics include programming, IT networking, project management, graphic design, and business strategy. The platform also provides code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and more. The O'Reilly platform does not provide options for printing or downloading. First-time users must sign up for an account. Click "Institution not listed?", then enter BGSU email address. Returning users must sign in.
You can download books using the free O´Reilly app - click here to learn more
Link: https://libguides.bgsu.edu/oreillyFormerly: Safari e-Books
Coverage: Mostly from 2004 to present
Users: Unlimited simultaneous users
Contains: Tech books on programming languages, applications, systems, networking, web design and development, and more. Over 48,000 titles; very current
Best for: Computer science, web development, applications
Printing: None
Download: None
Compatible with: Anything with a web browser
Instruction pages: O'Reilly for Higher Education
To Create a stable link to an O'Reilly e-Book or resource, use the boxes below:
Art supplies online
If you can't find specialty supplies locally (check with your professors for recommendations for local suppliers), here are a few directories and links to online arts suppliers. A link to any commercial supplier does not imply an endorsement by the University Libraries or BGSU.
-
The PhotoForum's List Photo/Imaging Manufacturers, Distributors, Labs and Stock AgenciesExtensive list of the websites of manufacturers, distributers, suppliers, etc.
-
Printmaking Suppliers directoryPrintmaking supply links from a faculty member at Bradley University.
-
American Science & SurplusLow-cost and exotic scientific surplus. Heavy on laboratory, robotic, electrical, and other hard science supplies, but always has toys, military surplus, arts and crafts, and ... stuff. Physical store is in Chicago, rumored to be a geek's paradise.
-
Dick BlickOne of the big three online art supplies sites.
-
Utrecht Art SuppliesOne of the big three online art supplies sites.