What is the Frank Kalan Romance Cover Art Collection?
In December 2017, the Browne Popular Culture Library received 130 original oil paintings by commercial artist Frank Kalan, donated by his family. The paintings represent a period during the 1980s and 1990s when Mr. Kalan worked as a cover illustrator for romance novels produced primarily by Harlequin Enterprises. In addition to the paintings, the collection includes paperwork showing the direction Kalan received from the publisher, reference photographs used to create the paintings, and cover mockups created from the paintings.
The Frank Kalan Collection provides researchers with the opportunity to get up close and personal with one of the most important elements of romance novel marketing- the cover. In addition, the BPCL already holds copies of many of the books created from Mr. Kalan’s work. The ability to consider this particular combination of creative process and published product is unique among academic archives, and will be a tremendous resource for scholars of romance fiction, one of the fastest growing aspects of popular culture research.
Romance fiction generates more than $1 billion in revenue annually for the publishing industry, with thousands of new titles published each year. That such a massive economic engine is created primarily by women, for women makes it an important area of study for students of gender, business, and literature alike.
To see a detailed inventory of this significant collection, consult the Frank Kalan Romance Cover Art Collection finding aid
In keeping with its mission to both collect and share popular culture, the BPCL will also work to actively display the artworks for the public to enjoy. The Browne Popular Culture Library is grateful to the Kalan family for its generous donation, and is happy to be able to preserve and provide access to this important resource.