Romance Literature and Media

 Romance comic books were very popular among American girls, teens, and women during the 1950s-1970s. They told romantic stories that were similar to those told in popular novels, television, and radio. The BPCL has a large collection of romance comic books in our comic book collection.

Click here to browse romance comic books in our collection.

The BPCL also includes many teen comic books from this era; many of these comic books revolved around romance.

A few of our longest running romance comic books include:

Pulp magazines were popular and affordable fiction periodicals in the 1890s-1950s. Many titles were dedicated to specific genres, such as adventure stories, detective and mystery stories, westerns, science fiction... and, of course, romance.

The BPCL has one of the largest collection of pulp magazines in the world, including a large collection of romance pulps. You can browse the titles of our romance pulp magazines here.

Romance stories can be found in lots of manga, contemporary graphic novels, and other comics. Here are some helpful ways to browse for romance in the BPCL's holdings of manga, graphic novels, and other comics:

Subject search for "Interpersonal relations -- Comic books, strips, etc."

 Genre search for "romance comics"

Here are a few of our popular holdings:

 The BPCL has a great collection of movies and TV shows on DVD -- including romance. Members of the BGSU community with a valid BGSU ID can check out DVDs from the BPCL's for a few days.

Browse dramatic romances in our DVD collection here.

Browse romantic comedies in our DVD collection here.