Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Persistent Links: Finding Persistent Links

Learn how to create persistent links to articles in BGSU library databases that will work from on or off campus.

Databases/Vendors in which URL in Browser Bar = Persistent Link

  • ARTstor
  • OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
  • JSTOR
  • Naxos Music Library
  • Project Muse
  • Oxford Music Online
  • ProQuest (Includes Global Newsstream, Vogue, New York Times Historical)
  • PubMed Central

For these databases, just copy the URL in the address bar as it is a permanent link.

IMPORTANT:  If you are ON CAMPUS when copying the URL, be sure to add the EZProxy prepend (http://ezproxy.bgsu.edu/login?url=) at the beginning of the URL (if it's not there) so it will work from OFF CAMPUS.  

Finding Persistent Links

For many databases, the URL in the browser address bar IS the persistent link.

For the following databases, the URLs in the browser bars do NOT work as persistent links.

Don't See Your Database?

Not sure if the URL in the browser bar is persistent or not?  

1. Look in the database record for a link or icon that indicates it's a permanent link.  It might mention permalink or persistent URL or just something like Get a Link. 

2. Test the URL.   Copy the URL in the address bar, paste it into another browser and see if it take you to the correct article.  If it does, it is probably a permanent link.   

If you have questions about finding persistent links in any database, please Ask Us at the library!