Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Follow the tabs above to locate additional legal resources.
Legal Research Databases
Nexis Uni (Formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic)
Locate legal publications as well as full-text newspapers and business information.. Our most comprehensive legal research database. Includes primary legal resources (statutes, regulations & case law) at both state and federal levels, as well as an extensive law review collection.
Govinfo is a service of the US Government Printing Office and provides free public access to over 50 government databases from all three branches of the Federal Government. (Redesign of FDsys site)
Law Library of Congress
Contains a wealth of U.S. legislative information.
HeinOnline US Statutes at Large
Full-text searchable images of every page of the Statutes at Large (PDF format) from 1789 through 2012.
Law Review Commons
Over 300 open-access law reviews · Over 220,000 articles · Free current issues & archives from 1852.
Legal Professionals site
Additional Legal Databases
Looking for more? Try one of our other legal databases from this list!
Primary Sources of Law - What are they?
Primary sources are the law itself. They are created by Federal and State branches of government.
Statutory Law (Legislative Branch): Statutes, codes, constitutions, rules of court. Generally, laws passed by congress.
Case Law (Judicial Branch): Decisions of courts and administrative bodies (i.e. Federal Court of Appeals, Ohio Supreme Ct.)
Administrative Law/Regulations & White House (Executive Branch): Rules and regulations promulgated by government agencies (i.e. EPA, OSHA, Ohio Department of Education); Executive Orders of the President.
Secondary Legal Resources consist of a variety of sources written by legal scholars and experts. Though not the law itself, secondary sources provide discussion and commentary on the law. Secondary resources are often a great place to begin legal research and can be very useful in helping non-legal scholars understand the law on a particular topic or in a particular area.
Types of secondary resources include:
- Law Review Articles
- Legal Encyclopedias
- Legal Books & Treatises
- Restatements of the Law
Additional Legal Research Guides