Useful Databases
A good place to start is to search for the topic in these catalogs.
- BGSU Libraries CatalogStart by searching this catalog to see if BGSU owns government publications on your topic or if the library has cataloged relevant government Internet sites.
- Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsDescriptions of publications issued by the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government and links to those that are available online.
- govinfogovinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government, with comprehensive advanced search and browse options. Some things you can find in govinfo include: Budget of the United States, Commerce Business Daily, Congressional Directory, Congressional Record, Economic Indicators, Economic Report of the President, Government Accountability Office Reports, U.S. Government Manual, and the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents. govinfo replaced FDsys in 2018.
- Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)Thousands of U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents related to homeland security, as well as specialized resources from universities, organizations, and local and state agencies.
- LLMC Digital Law LibraryHistorical legal titles and government documents from around the world, with a focus on U.S. federal and state material.
- National Technical Reports LibraryThe NTRL provides access to millions of historical and current government technical reports, thousand of which are full text. Although the emphasis is on science and medicine, there are numerous historical and social science reports covering events such as the Cuban Missile Crisis, the Cold War, Harry Truman, China's influence in Latin America, etc.
- OhioLINK Central CatalogIf BGSU doesn't own documents on your topic, try the OhioLINK Central Catalog. It contains the holdings of the libraries at more than 80 colleges and universities throughout Ohio, many of which have government documents collections.
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)WorldCat contains catalog records, locations, and library borrowing information for books, journals, videos, sound recordings, archival materials and more owned by millions of libraries all over the world.
National Security Study Memoranda (Nixon Administration)
- National Security Study MemorandaThe Nixon Presidential Library has digitized most of the National Security Study Memoranda for the Nixon Administration.
Useful Print Indexes
- Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog of U. S. Government Publications, 1900 to 1971Call Number: GOV DOCS REF Z1223.A1973x v.1-15ISBN: 9780840800015Publication Date: 1975
Cumulative Title Index to United States Public Documents, 1789-1976 by Call Number: GOV DOCS REF Z1223.Z7 L47 J83 v.1-16ISBN: 0882220349Publication Date: 1978-03-01- Monthly catalog of United States Government publicationsCall Number: Online & GOV DOCS REF GP 3.8/8:Publication Date: 1976-2004NOTE: Use the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications database for more current U.S. government documents.
