Useful Government Documents on the Internet
Other Useful Databases & Internet Sites
- BGSU Libraries CatalogAll of the documents in our Canadian, Ohio, and Bowling Green documents collections have been cataloged. However, not all U.S. government documents have been cataloged. You will also find links to online government information in the catalog.
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1976 to presentDescriptions of publications issued by the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government and links to those that are available online.
- OhioLINK Central CatalogIf BGSU doesn't own documents on your topic, try the OhioLINK Central Catalog. It contains the holdings of the libraries at more than 80 colleges and universities throughout Ohio, many of which have government documents collections.
- Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsCommonly referred to as the Monthly Catalog or MoCat, this publication lists all of the publications produced by the U.S. Government Printing Office from 1895 to 2004. Initially intended to supplement the Documents Catalog, the Monthly Catalog served as the “comprehensive index” provided for in the Printing Act of 1895 after the Documents Catalog was discontinued in 1947. The Monthly Catalog was discontinued with the December 2004 edition, after which point the continuously updated Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) served that purpose.
Useful Print Indexes
Cumulative Title Index to United States Public Documents, 1789-1976 by Call Number: GOV DOCS REF Z1223.Z7 L47 J83 v.1-16ISBN: 0882220349Publication Date: 1978-03-01
Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog of U. S. Government Publications, 1900 to 1971 by Call Number: GOV DOCS REF Z1223.A1973 v. 1-15ISBN: 9780840800015Publication Date: 1975-01-01- Monthly catalog of United States Government publicationsCall Number: Online & GOV DOCS REF GP 3.8/8:Publication Date: 1976-2004NOTE: Use the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications database for more current U.S. government documents.
Documents Collections
The BGSU Libraries house collections of United States, Ohio, Bowling Green, and Canadian government documents. For more information, see:
Useful Print Government Documents
- "In the minds and hearts of the people": five American patriots and the road to revolution byCall Number: GOV DOCS SI 11.2:Am 3/3
- American home front : Revolutionary War, Civil War, World War I, World War II byCall Number: GOV DOCS D5.402:Am3/2
- Army Medical Department, 1775-1818 byCall Number: GOV DOCS D114.19:M46/775-818
- Black presence in the era of the American Revolution, 1770-1800Call Number: GOV DOCS SI11.2:B56/1770-1800
- Continental Army byCall Number: GOV DOCS D114.11:C76
- Counterintelligence reader : American Revolution to World War IICall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2004
- Dye is now cast : the road to American independence, 1774-1776 byCall Number: GOV DOCS SI 11.2:Am 3/4
- English defenders of American freedoms, 1774-1778: six pamphlets attacking British policy byCall Number: GOV DOCS LC 1.2:En 3/1774-78
John Paul Jones' Memoir of the American Revolution Presented to King Louis XVI of France by Call Number: GOV DOCS LC 1.2:J 71ISBN: 0844402648Publication Date: 1979-01-01
Letters from a distinguished American : twelve essays by John Adams on American foreign policy, 1780Call Number: GOV DOCS LC 1.2:AD 1ISBN: 0844402583Publication Date: 1978-01-01- List of Black servicemen compiled from the War Department collection of Revolutionary War records byCall Number: GOV DOCS MICROFICHE AE1.115:36
- March to victory : Washington, Rochambeau, and the Yorktown Campaign of 1781 byCall Number: GOV DOCS D 114.2:W 27ISBN: 016077117X
- Marines in the Revolution : a history of the Continental Marines in the American Revolution, 1775-1783 byCall Number: GOV DOCS D 214.13:R 32 1775-83
- Maritime dimensions of the American RevolutionCall Number: GOV DOCS D 207.10/2:M 33
- Negro in the Continental Congress byCall Number: Main Lib - 1st Floor E185 .B47"Extracts from the 34 volumes of the Journals of the Continental Congress, 1774-1789."
- Old Ironsides, U.S. frigate Constitution : an essay in sketchesCall Number: GOV DOCS D 201.2:Ol 1
- Revolutionary America, 1763-1789 : a bibliography byCall Number: GOV DOCS LC1.12/2:R32/4/1763-89/ v. 1-2
- Revolutionary secrets : cryptology in the American RevolutionCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2012
- Sea raiders of the American Revolution : the Continental Navy in European watersCall Number: GOV DOCS D 221.2:R 13Publication Date: 2003
- War of the American Revolution : narrative, chronology, and bibliography byCall Number: GOV DOCS D 114.2:Am 3/2004
