It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HIST 2210: North American Indigenous Peoples: Journals and Magazines
Guide to library resources--books, journals, newspapers, websites, government information--for the History 2210 class.
Full-text collections of thousands of historical American periodicals, provided by the American Antiquarian Society and published between 1691 and 1912. The collection is fully searchable via a number of filters, and offers multiple navigation options.
Professors often require students to find scholarly and peer reviewed articles. These items:
generally focus on scholarly research
are written by experts in the field or discipline
are critically reviewed by other experts before publication
contain cited references to the information sources used
How do I find scholarly or peer reviewed articles?
Many of the library's databases contain scholarly or peer reviewed material and allow you to limit your search to include only these articles in the results. Use the advanced search feature in a database to find the option to limit to this type of search.
Useful Print Indexes
Poole's Index to International Literature, 1802 - 1906
MAIN REF INDEX AI 3 .P7
Social Sciences & Humanities Index, 1965 - 1974
MAIN REF INDEX AI 3 .R49
Summon is a new service that allows you to quickly search, discover and access reliable and credible library content in digital and print formats, audio and video, single articles and entire e-journals, and every format in between. Enter your terms in one search box, and quickly get credible results in one relevancy-ranked list.
Over a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s.