Folktale and Fairy Tale Resources in the CRC: Collections from Around the World

This collection contains 37 stories, all arranged in the clear, lively prose for which Lang was famous. Not only are Lang's generally conceded to be the best English versions of standard stories, his collections are the richest and widest in range. His position as one of England's foremost folklorists as well as his first-rate literary abilities makes his collection invaluable in the English language.

37 tales include Grimms The Three Dwarfs, Mother Hole, The Golden Goose. Also Rapunzel, Jack and the Beanstalk, the Ratcatcher (the Pied Piper), Snowdrop (Snow White), The Voice of Death, The Enchanted Pig, The Master Thief, from France, Russia, Denmark, Romania, and Norse Sigurd and Brynhild.

Contains fairy tales gathered from the folklore of Russia, Germany, Italy, France, Spain, China, Scotland, and Ireland.

48 tales from all over the world include The Emperor's New Clothes, The Tinder-box, How to Tell a True Princess, and The Nightingale, from Andersen, Grimm, Hungary, Poland, Russia, Germany, France, England, American Indians, and Iceland.

A collection of forty-one fairy tales from the folklore of Japan, Scandinavia, Sicily, Africa, and Spain

The Grey Fairy Book includes many strange, exotic stories from Lithuania, Africa, Germany, Greece and France. But they are all told in the common language of the fairy tale, and their events will be familiar to children and grown-ups alike.

Romania, Japan, Serbia, Lithuania, Africa, Portugal, and Russia are among the sources of these 35 stories that tell of a haunted forest, chests of gold coins, a magical dog, and a man who outwits a dragon. Perhaps the best English versions available of these classic stories.

The Crimson Fairy Book contains a fascinating collection of tales from many countries: Hungary, Russia, Rumania, Finland, Iceland, Japan, and Sicily are only some of them. Filled with imagination, excitement, and adventure, these tales will delight children with their illogical yet strangely reasonable events, and will offer parents a pleasant change from the well-worn favorites.

32 folk tales from American Indians, Australian Bushmen, African Kaffirs, India, Persia, Lapland, Brazil, India, New Caledonia and more.

Includes 33 tales from Jutland, Rhodesia, Uganda, and various other European traditions: "The Magic Mirror," "The Two Caskets," "The Clever Cat," "The White Slipper," "The Girl-Fish, and more.

29 tales from Turkey, India, Denmark, Armenia, the Sudan, and France. The Green Knight is saved by a soup made from nine snakes, the lovely Dorani flies every night to fairyland, heroes hear animals. Eight Punjabi tales, five from Armenia, 16 others. Flying dragons, ogres, fairies, and princes transformed into white foxes

Over 30 tales from Portugal, Ireland, Wales, and points East and West, among them "The Brown Bear of Norway," "The Enchanted Deer," "The Story of a Very Bad Boy," and "The Brownie of the Lake."

Seven classic fairy tales, interwoven and retold, retain the spirit of the original lore in contemporary language

An illustrated retelling of twenty-two folktales, fairy tales, and fables

From favorites like "Puss in Boots" and "Goldilocks" to obscure gems like "The Boy Who Drew Cats," this volume has something to offer every reader. Seventeen fairy tales are wonderfully adapted and illustrated in comics format by such noted artists as Raina Telgemeier, Brett Helquist, Cherise Harper, and others

Presents eighteen simple stories from international folklore, grouped around six themes, such as "Runaway Cookies," "Slowpokes and Speedsters," and "Chain Tales." Includes background information and storytelling hints

The alligator and the jackal -- The young leopard and the ram -- The coyote and the ravens -- The singing tortoise -- The impudent little bird -- The turkey girl -- How the turtle got his shell - The Ranee and the cobra -- The cat and the mice -- Animal language -- The rabbit and the elephants

Overflowing with wisdom and humor, here is a comprehensive collection of favorite tales from vigorous and vibrant oral tradition of African-American folklore.

As his plans are spoiled over and over again, the wolf keeps trying to find his dinner, in this retelling of five well-known stories and fables

Fables originally published in: Eric Carle's treasury of classic stories for children

A retelling of 10 fables by Aesop including "The Fox and the Crow," "The Crow and the Water Jug," and "The Lion and the Mouse."

A collection of fables retold from Aesop, including "The Hare and the Tortoise," "The Ant and the Grasshopper," and "Androcles and the Lion."

Contains 23 fables, the full complement of Lawrence's illustrations, 18 of which were originally published by Windmill Books in 1970

Retellings of six fables from Aesop, including "The Fox and the Crow," "The Stag and his Mirrors," and "The Hare and the Tortoise."

A retelling of several ancient African myths, with background information describing the history, geography, belief systems, and customs of various peoples of Africa

Tales, myths, legends, and modern humorous stories and jokes from Egypt are presented with explanation of their cultural context and discussion of their meaning

A collection of twelve folktales from different parts of Africa

Ananse, the spider in search of a fool.--Frog and his two wives.--Elephant and frog go courting.--Tortoise, hare, and the sweet potatoes.--The ox of the wonderful horns

In this abundant and kaleidoscopic collection, Spagnoli includes stories from Spagnoli includes stories from Japan, India, Korea, Vietnam, Cambodia, the Philippines, Bangladesh, Laos, Tibet, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, China, Indonesia, Taiwan, Burma, and Nepal. After offering a brief look at modern Asian storytellers practicing traditional storytelling styles, she arranges the stories around dominant Asian themes such as harmony and friendship.

An illustrated collection of Vietnamese folktales with explantaory notes following each story

Five traditional Japanese tales including One-inch Fellow, The Good Fortune Kettle, The Tongue-Cut Sparrow, Momotaro, and The White Hare and the Crocodiles

Artist Song Nan Zhang created this book to introduce Western children to the wealth of Chinese mythology. We see how people learned to build houses, manage fire, and plant crops after Pangu separated the earth and the sky. Inspired by Chinese pottery, sculpture, and paintings, Song Nan Zhang has added his own modern sensibilities to create a unique book.

The mischievous monkey king attempts to achieve immortality the easy way, gains god-like powers, and wreaks havoc in heaven

The world of Korean fairy tales is populated with malevolent giants, whimsical goblins, sly rabbits, greedy tigers, and, of course, people

Collection of Japanese folktales, presented in both English and basic kanji accompanied by furigana

The tales chosen for this book share the Vietnamese five great virtues: Nhan (Compassion), Le (Rituals), Nghia (Righteousness), Tri (Wisdom), and Tin (Trust). The author notes that her parents used traditional stories to teach children values and morals. Now the author, who is a story teller, uses the same tales to help Vietnamese children learn their traditional culture and values

A tired father takes only a few sentences to tell a number of classic tales in order to get the persistent listener to fall asleep

Everyone thinks they know the real story behind the villains in fairy tales--evil, no two ways about it. But the villains themselves beg to differ. In this anthology for younger readers, you'll hear from the Giant's wife (from Jack and the Beanstalk), Rumpelstiltskin, the oldest of the Twelve Dancing Princesses, and more

In this illuninating work, a leading expert in the field of folklore guides readers through 26 fairy tales, exploring their historical origins, their cultural complexities, and their psychological effects on children

Ten classic tales, including "The Emperor's New Clothes," Puss in Boots," and "The Frog Prince," are retold with Arthur the aardvark and his friends as the characters in the stories

An illustrated collection of Perrault fairy tales, including "Cinderella," "The Sleeping Beauty," and "Blue Beard."

An illustrated collection of eleven tales including such familiar titles as "Cinderella" and "Sleeping Beauty" and less familiar ones such as "Tufty Ricky" and "The Fairies."

Rumpelstiltskin -- Beauty and the Beast -- Hansel and Gretel -- Little Red Riding Hood -- The Frog Prince -- Jack and the beanstalk

Jack and the beanstalk -- Hansel and Gretel -- The Fisherman and his wife -- Beauty and the beast -- The Elves and the shoemaker -- Rumpelstiltskin -- Cinderella

Translation of the 1812-1815 edition of: Kinder- und Hausmärchen

Nineteen of the best-known fairy tales, including "Rapunzel," "Beauty and the Beast," "Thumbelina," and "Hansel and Gretel."

Presents ten classic fairy tales from the Brothers Grimm, with new illustrations and updated wording

Fifteen classic Grimm fairy tales, illustrated by such well-known artists as Arthur Rackham, Walter Crane, and Randolph Caldecott

The little red hen -- The ugly duckling -- Chicken little

The frog prince -- The emperor's new clothes -- The Princess and the pea

Sleeping Beauty -- The Little Mermaid -- Beauty and the beast

Little Red Riding Hood -- Hansel and Gretel -- Rumpelstiltskin

A collection of tales including "The Snow Queen," "The Little Mermaid," "The Little Match girl," "Thumbelina," "The Elfin Hill," "Little Ida's Flower," "The Ugly Duckling," "The Wild Swans," and "The Emperor's New Clothes."

A collection of three Latin American folktales retold in graphic novel form

The flea -- The story of the sun and moon -- The tailor who sold his soul to the devil -- Pedro the trickster -- The hog -- The shadow -- Horses' hooves and chicken feet -- The seven oxen -- The drovers who lost their feet -- The two Marias -- The priest who had a glimpse of glory -- The brave widow -- The endless tale -- Cinder Juan -- The cat

Discusses the mythology from Indians of various regions of Mexico and Central America, describing origins, comparing the similar tales, and presenting some of the myths themselves

Coyote speaks encourages better understanding of Native American culture by exploring through word and image some of the story-paths and lifeways of America's First People

A collection of Native American folklore from the Hudson and Delaware valleys

Jack and the wizard (English) -- The spirits in the leather bag (Kampuchean) -- The frail old woman (Bengali) -- Turtle goes on the warpath (Skidi Pawnee) -- Ananse and the impossible quest (Ghanaian) -- The Mullah Nasrudin (Turkish) -- Brer Rabbit and the share crops (African American) -- The three sillies (russian) -- Nail soup (Swiss)

Twelve trickster tales that show the migration of African culture to America via the West Indies

An illustrated collection of tales featuring notable trickster characters such as Raven and Hare, from the folk traditions of many countries

A collection of fifteen Brer Rabbit trickster tales from the Afro-American culture of Central and South America and the Caribbean