Data Sources: Data Sources & Tools

a tool for helping people identify and locate online repositories of research data. Users and bibliographers create and curate records that describe data repositories that users can search. Hundreds of data sources are cataloged in this resource.

Maintains lists of open access data repositories for a wide range of subject areas.

Dataset Search is a search engine for datasets

As part of their Open Access mandate, NEH provides the high-value datasets in XML format. These datasets may also be found on the Data.gov portal.

The Stanford Literary Lab — founded in 2010 by Matthew Jockers and Franco Moretti — discusses, designs, and pursues literary research of a digital and quantitative nature. The Lab is open to all students and faculty at Stanford — and, on a more ad hoc basis, to students and faculty from other institutions.

WordSeer is a text analysis environment that combines visualization, information retrieval, sensemaking and and natural language processing to make the contents of text navigable, accessible, and useful.

U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services has begun "liberating" health data through the Health Data Initiative -- making more and more data from HHS' vaults (from CMS, CDC, FDA and NIH, to name a few sources) easily available and accessible to the public and to innovators across the country.

The PDS archives and distributes scientific data from NASA planetary missions, astronomical observations, and laboratory measurements.

The mission of the wwPDB is to maintain a single Protein Data Bank Archive of macromolecular structural data that is freely and publicly available to the global community.

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is a membership-based organization providing access to the world's largest archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences

Historical data sets for many countries. Includes economic data, opium use, demographics, silver, trade, disease, slaves, mortality, etc.

The Data Catalog provides download access to over 8,000 indicators from World Bank data sets.

Hosted at Syracuse University, QDR stores and preserves data and the website provides detailed guidance on data topics.