Comics: Birth of an American Art Form Collection
The Comics: Birth of an American Art Form Collection consists of materials used in the televised show "Comics: Birth of an American Art Form" (believed to be aired by WBGU in the early 1970s) to demonstrate the step-by-step process of creating a Marvel comic book. The majority of the materials are related to the comic book The Mighty Thor, vol. 1, no. 188, May 1971. This collection also includes some cover artwork from a Daredevil comic book and an Invincible Iron Man comic book. Most of these display materials are photocopies; some original art, and some photocopies of comic art with hand-rendered embellishments, are included.
Artwork from the Comics: Birth of an American Art Form Collection
Allen and John Saunders Papers
The Allen and John Saunders Papers is a comprehensive collection of materials related to Allen Saunders' career as a comic strip writer from 1936-1986. These materials reflect his work on the following comic strips: Big Chief Wahoo/Steve Roper/Mike Nomad (1936-2004), Apple Mary/Mary Worth's Family/Mary Worth (1940-), Dateline: Danger! (1968-1974), and Kerry Drake (1943-1983). One of the most unique aspects of this collection is the original artwork and extensive proof sheets related to these strips. The collection also includes publicity materials and clippings from national newspapers, as well as spin-offs such as scripts for a television show, comic books, and sheet music inspired by these comic strips.
This collection also includes Allen Saunders’ research files, professional files from his work as a journalist, academic files, and personal files. The materials in this collection date from 1895-1986.
Other Manuscript Collections
The Michael Roden Papers consist of correspondence, printed materials (comics and comics-related publications), photographs, and audiovisual recordings collected by Roden. he printed materials are comprised of comics, mini comics, and digests Roden either published or was involved with in some way. Artwork from several of Roden’s friends and colleagues is also represented within this collection. Furthermore, catalogs compiled by Dale Lee Coovert of Roden’s work are available at the end of the printed materials section. The materials in this collection date from 1978-2010.
The Paul S. Newman Papers consist of the manuscript for the text of a DarkWing Duck comic, "Faster Than a Speeding Ticket." The finished version was published in Disney Afternoon Magazine in March 1995.