It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HIST 4800: The Atlantic World, 1500-1800: Articles (Secondary Sources)
A guide to library and Internet resources that may be useful for researching the Atlantic World from 1500 to 1800.
Over a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s.
Searchable database of full text articles from a wide variety of American periodicals published between 1741 and the mid 1940's. This a great place to find articles, illustrations, recipes, poems, ads, etc. published during this time period.
An index covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 129,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents published in the United States and Canada.
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press of the United States. It provides articles from over 315 national and regional publications in English and Spanish and is completely searchable in both languages.
Searches citations to scholarly articles and papers on all topics from over 10,000 journals and 110,000 conference proceedings. It includes three parts: Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present), and Science Citation Index Expanded (1965-present). This database is particularly useful for citation searching.
Summon is a new service that allows you to quickly search, discover and access reliable and credible library content in digital and print formats, audio and video, single articles and entire e-journals, and every format in between. Enter your terms in one search box, and quickly get credible results in one relevancy-ranked list.